skip to main content

Nina Simone: The Complete Philips Years Limited 180gram Vinyl 7LP Box

by Nina Simone

Release Date: 22 July 2016

Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Label: USM


Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Nina Simone Nina Simone: The Complete Philips Years Limited 180gram Vinyl 7LP Box Set

USM are pleased to announce the release of Nina Simone: The Philips Years, a collection of seven LPs released during her time with the label. Nina Simone in Concert was Simone’s first album for Philips and was made up of three live recordings in Carnegie Hall, New York City in March and April 1964. This album marks the beginning of "Nina Simone, the Civil Rights singer" in her recording career. Included on the album are politically laden songs, most notably the self-written "Mississippi Goddam", released as a single at the time. But also "Old Jim Crow", "Go Limp" and the haunting "Pirate Jenny" contributed to the message in a covert or metaphorical way. In contrast to her first Philips album which was politically laden with civil rights motifs, Broadway-Blues-Ballads is more playful. I Put a Spell on You is the 1965 album by Nina Simone, and features some of her best known songs. Pastel Blues features covers of Billie Holiday songs. Let It All Out features "Images", an a cappella performance by Simone, based on a poem by Waring Cuney. Wild Is the Wind was compiled from several recordings that were left over from sessions for previous Philips albums. High Priestess of Soul is the last album Simone released under Philips Records. The songs are accompanied by a large band directed by Hal Mooney. After this album title –an attempt to broaden her appeal by management execs– Nina Simone was sometimes referred to as “the high priestess of soul”.

Featured Tracks:
LP1 - Nina Simone In Concert
1. I Loves You Porgy
2. Plain Gold Ring
3. Pirate Jenny
4. Old Jim Crow
5. Don't Smoke In Bed
6. Go Limp
7. Mississippi Goddam

LP2 - Broadway-Blues-Ballads
1. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
2. Night Song
3. The Laziest Gal In Town
4. Something Wonderful
5. Don't Take All Night
6. Nobody
7. I am Blessed
8. Of This I'm Sure
9. See-Line Woman
10. Our Love (will See Us Through)
11. How Can I?
12. The Last Rose Of Summer

LP3 - I Put A Spell On You
1. I Put A Spell On You
2. Tomorrow Is My Turn
3. Ne Me Quitte Pas
4. Marriage Is For Old Folks
5. July Tree
6. Gimme Some
7. Feeling Good
8. One September Day
9. Blues On Purpose
10. Beautiful Land
11. You've Got To Learn
12. Take Care Of Business

LP4 - Pastel Blues
1. Be My Husband
2. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
3. End Of The Line
4. Trouble In Mind
5. Tell Me More And More And Then Some
6. Chilly Winds Don't Blow
7. Ain't No Use
8. Strange Fruit
9. Sinnerman

LP5 - Let It All Out
1. Mood Indigo
2. The Other Woman (live In New York/1964)
3. Love Me Or Leave Me
4. Don't Explain
5. Little Girl Blue (live In New York/1964)
6. Chauffeur
7. For Myself
8. The Ballad Of Hollis Brown
9. This Year's Kisses
10. Images (live In New York/1964)
11. Nearer Blessed Lord

LP6 - Wild Is the Wind
1. I Love Your Lovin' Ways
2. Four Women
3. What More Can I Say?
4. Lilac Wine
5. That's All I Ask
6. Break Down And Let It All Out
7. Why Keep On Breaking My Heart
8. Wild Is The Wind
9. Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair
10. If I Should Lose You
11. Either Way I Lose

LP7 - High Priestess of Soul
1. Don't You Pay Them No Mind
2. I'm Gonna Leave You
3. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
4. Keeper Of The Flame
5. The Gal From Joe's
6. Take Me To The Water
7. I'm Going Back Home
8. I hold No Grudge
9. Come Ye
10. He Ain't Comin' Home No More
11. Work Song
12. I Love My Baby

You May Also Like

Nina Simone: The Montreux Years Limited Coloured 2LP Set
by Nina Simone

Release Date: 16 October 2021
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: BMG

Pastel Blues Limited 180gram Audiophile LP
by Nina Simone

Release Date: 03 August 2021
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl

Sings Ellington! Limited Vinyl LP
by Nina Simone

Release Date: 03 August 2021
Format: LP Vinyl