skip to main content

Nights Out: 10th Anniversary Edition Limited Gatefold Green Vinyl 2LP

by Metronomy

Release Date: 08 February 2019

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Because Music


Metronomy Nights Out: 10th Anniversary Edition Limited Gatefold Green Vinyl 2LP


As Metronomy work on their forthcoming sixth album, they take a moment to reflect on the 10th anniversary of their breakthrough album ‘Nights Out’. Metronomy’s Joseph Mount has delved into the archives for ‘Nights Out: 10th Anniversary Edition’ which will be released on February 8th on Because Music.

It features the original critically acclaimed album alongside a second LP which expands upon Mount’s vision with a set of unreleased demos, rarities and b-sides - many of which make their first appearance on vinyl. Two of the highlights come with alternative versions which have become staples of the Metronomy live set: a bedtime dub version of ‘Holiday’ which takes it into a darker, glitchier direction, and a French-language version of ‘Heartbreaker’.

Mount’s Francophile leanings are also explored in Breakbot’s remix of ‘A Thing For Me’, which contrasts French touch vibes with Mount’s distinctly English-accented vocals. Previously issued on an exclusive Rough Trade bonus disc, ‘Over’ is an instrumental of cinematic scale, while the disc closes with four previously unreleased demos including the leftfield minimalism of ‘Das Booty’.

Although Metronomy’s 2006’s debut album ‘Pip Paine (Pay The £5000 You Owe)’ was discovered by those in the know, it was ‘Nights Out’ that captured the imagination of a much wider audience. Mount achieved the seemingly impossible: he highlighted both the joyous atmosphere of a big night out and a taste of the resultant comedown in a set that playfully veered towards being a concept album.

About Nights Out Joseph Mount says: “Oscar reminded me the other day how I said to him on completing Radio Ladio ‘I think I’ve just written my first number 1’. I hadn’t. We also reminisced about the day we borrowed the Honda Insight for the album artwork: I found the owner on an enthusiast chat room, we gave his daughter two Kate Nash tickets and a meet and greet with Kate in exchange for a few shots with the vehicle… simpler times. Shout out to Myspace.”

Metronomy’s most recent album ‘Summer 08’ was released in 2016 to widespread critical acclaim. DIY described it as a “pure-pop odyssey” and NME concluded, “Mount has done it again. He could write music about the impact of Brexit on the UK’s trade with China and make it sound amazing. He’s that good.”

Metronomy bring 2018 to a close when they play Edinburgh’s Hogmanay Street Party on December 31st. The 65,000 capacity show is headlined by Franz Ferdinand and completed by Free Love.

Featured Tracks:

Side A

A1. Nights Out

A2. The End Of You Too

A3. Radio Ladio

A4. My Heart Rate Rapid

A5. Heartbreaker

A6. On The Motorway

Side B

B1. Side 2

B2. Holiday

B3. A Thing For Me

B4. Back On The Motorway

B5. On Dancefloors

B6. Nights Outro

Side C

C1. Our Raid

C2. Lets Have A Party

C3. The Chase

C4. Holiday (Bedtime Dub)

C5. Please Me

C6. Over

Side D

D1. Matthias Gathering

D2. Heartbreaker (French Version)

D3. A Thing For Me (Breakbot Remix)

D4. Intro Thing (Demo)

D5. Young Americans (Demo)

D6. Output (Demo)

D7. Das Booty (Demo)

You May Also Like

Pip Paine (Pay the 5000 you owe) Limited Vinyl 2LP Set + CD
by Metronomy

Release Date: 16 February 2018
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Because

Summer 08 Limited Vinyl LP + CD
by Metronomy

Release Date: 01 July 2016
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Because