skip to main content

NIGHT IS THE NEW DAY Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

by Katatonia

Release Date: 17 December 2015

Format: LP Double Vinyl



KATATONIA NIGHT IS THE NEW DAY Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

THE 2009 STUDIO ALBUM FROM SWEDEN’S KATATONIA ‘Night is the New Day’ is Katatonia’s eighth studio album. It was recorded throughout July 2009 and was co-produced, engineered and mixed by David Castillo. A continuation of the heaviness, depth and atmosphere of their previous album, ‘Night Is the New Day’ is also a more multi-dimensional effort - waltzing between prog moments, doom, folk and the classic melodic anthems that are the staple of Katatonia’s uncompromising sound, completed by the haunting tones of Jonas Renkse’s vocal journeys of urban and emotional decay. Formed in 1991 by Anders Nyström and Jonas Renske their debut album, ‘Dance of December Souls’, was released in 1993, gaining the band recognition for their eclectic brand of gothic doom/death metal and joining acts such as Paradise Lost and My Dying Bride as one of the genre’s defining bands. On future albums a newer, sleeker Katatonia sound came to the fore, starting with a streamlined and structured collection of melodic dark rock songs that became third album ‘Discouraged Ones’; the main evolution point for modern day Katatonia. On the back of the monumental and most successful album to date, 2006’s ‘The Great Cold Distance’ - including three singles and an American and European tour - there came a period of soulsearching from the Swedes, facing a task of making a worthy and relevant successor to the ground-breaking album. With a conscious effort not to merely repeat themselves, Katatonia took their time with their next steps, while Anders and Jonas also remained busy with death metal group Bloodbath, alongside Mikael and Martin from Opeth. Cover art once again comes courtesy of Travis Smith (Katatonia, Opeth, Novembre) and continues the stylistic identity established so effectively since ‘The Great Cold Distance’. 180 GRAM Double Heavyweight Vinyl in a Gatefold Sleeve 'possibly the greatest 'heavy' record I have heard in the last 10 years... it truly is a masterpiece!' - Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth)

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Forsaker (04:04)
2. The Longest Year (04:37)
3. Idle Blood (04:21)

Disc: 2
1. Onward Into Battle (03:49)
2. Liberation (04:16)
3. The Promise Of Deceit (04:15)

Disc: 3
1. Nephilim (04:25)
2. New Night (04:25)
3. Inheritance (04:26)

Disc: 4
1. Day And Then Shade (04:28)
2. Departer (05:27)
3. Ashen (04:06)

You May Also Like

CITY BURIALS Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set
by Katatonia

Release Date: 24 April 2020
Format: LP Double Vinyl