skip to main content

Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker At Ru-Jac Limited Yellow Vinyl LP


Release Date: 10 June 2016

Format: LP Vinyl



WINFIELD PARKER Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker At Ru-Jac Limited Yellow Vinyl LP + Download

Ru-Jac Records, one of the nation’s first African-American owned record labels, was formed in Baltimore in the early 1960s by Rufus Mitchell, who booked east coast entertainment venues including Carr’s Beach, a segregated summer resort near Annapolis. Ru-Jac was active through the
beginning of the 1970s and featured R&B, jazz and even rock acts. One of the most soulful was Winfield Parker. From “My Love,” to “I Love You Just The Same” to the collection’s title
track—Mr. Clean presents Parker at his most soulful, along with alternate takes, demos, backing tracks and songs unheard since they were first laid down to tape over five decades ago. With mastering and restoration from Grammy®-winner Michael Graves, they also sound better than ever.
In 2013, The Global Entertainment Media Association honored Winfield with a Golden Mic Honor, alongside contemporaries like Gamble & Huff, The Three Degrees, Barbara Mason, and more. He is celebrating 58 years in the music business in 2016, and it’s the material on Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker At Ru-Jac that shows the root of that legendary career, and paves the way for a new generation of appreciation, re-examination, and soul.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. My Love For You - Little Winfield Parker
2. One Of These Mornings - Little Winfield Parker
3. When I'm Alone
4. Rockin' In The Barnyard
5. I Love You Just The Same (with The Shyndells Band) [Version 1]
6. My Love (with The Shyndells Band)
7. Go Away Playgirl
8. Wondering

Disc: 2
1. Sweet Little Girl (with The Shyndells Band)
2. What Do You Say? (with The Shyndells Band)
3. She's So Pretty
4. Oh My Love
5. I Love You Just The Same (Version 2)
6. A Fallen Star
7. Mr. Clean (Part 1)
8. Mr. Clean (Part 2)
9. Funkey Party