skip to main content

Miscontinuum Album ( Fiepblatter Catalogue #3) Limited Clear Vinyl 2LP

by Jan St. Werner

Release Date: 26 January 2015

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Thrill Jockey


Jan St. Werner Miscontinuum Album ( Fiepblatter Catalogue #3) Limited Clear Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

Miscontinuum Album documents an impressive new work by seminal electronic musician Jan St. Werner, whose innovations with Mouse on Mars and Microstoria are well documented. Over a period of approximately four years Miscontinuum has been developed and refined as an operatic live performance in Munich, as well as a radio play. This recorded incarnation of the work is the third entry in Werner's lauded Fiepblatter series, and features contributions by Dylan Carlson (Earth), Markus Popp (Oval), Kathy Alberici, and Taigen Kawabe (Bo Ningen). It is a challenging listen not compromised for casual music consumption habits, but with time and close listening it yields vast rewards. Miscontinuum Album is a radical convergence of sound exploration and storytelling that has few precedents.
The central concept of Miscontinuum explores misconceptions of time and memory, inspired by unique acoustic phenomena derived digital phasing and musical time stretching techniques. There is an aura of doom that pervades the work. Much of the album's evocative nature comes from the interplay of Werner's electronics with Alberici and Kawabe's voices and the contrast between those organic and inorganic elements. Popp, a longtime collaborator with Werner in Microstoria, wrote the libretti, which is presented in five distinct scenes and recited redolently by Carlson. The surreal plot involves a progressive distinction of time as a force rather than a structuring system, and an individual who can shift consciously between states within that force. The high concepts and unusual creative partners combine for an album that is uncommonly emotionally resonant.

Deluxe 2LP version features expanded artwork with each LP in its own jacket, digital download and three bonus tracks not on the CD edition. The first 400 LP copies are pressed on limited clear vinyl, remaining copies on black vinyl.

Featured Tracks:
1. Intro
2. Cervo
3. Scene 1
4. Repedron
5. Demonos
6. Scene 2
7. Molono
8. Scene 3
9. Schwazade
10. Outtro
11. Amazonas