skip to main content

Metanoia Limited Gatefold Vinyl LP


Release Date: 13 November 2015

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Orphic


IAMX Metanoia Limited Gatefold Vinyl LP

IAMX is the solo project of Chris Corner; a UK songwriter, multi instrumentalist, singer, record producer and video artist. Corner was also a founding member of the electro/trip hop band Sneaker Pimps.

IAMX started life in 2004 with the release of the debut album ‘Kiss+Swallow’. Considered an underground classic it shaped the unique 'Glam Noir' IAMX sound and paved the way for 4 more cult albums; ‘The Alternative’, ‘Kingdom of Welcome Addiction’, ‘Volatile Times’ and ‘The Unified Field’.

Like an electro glam soundtrack to a Jan Svankmajer film, IAMX mixes Corner’s erotically charged dynamic vocals with fresh intricate electronic production, melancholia and piercing lyrics. Music that is as brutal as it is emotional.

‘Happiness’ is the first track released from the upcoming album ‘Metanoia’ (which will be available on 02nd October), but it also marks a geographical shift for Corner, who left the dark and oppressive streets of Berlin for the sunnier, temperate climes of Los Angeles to seek inspiration and escape. "Berlin was a playground that gave me room and confidence to pursue IAMX fearlessly," he says. "In some ways, it made me self-indulgent, which I don't regret, but I also fell into a dark hole in Berlin. I found myself always making music in the deep winter. I felt totally alone in my work - burnt out and afraid of the future.” Thankfully, Los Angeles provided an antidote… a change of environment that afforded him the ability to continue with IAMX. "Being in LA gives me a wider, more adult perspective on my life and my work. I feel more grown-up here."

With the October release of ‘Metanoia’ comes the announcement of a full-fledged European tour – his first in several years. "I want to tour," he says excitedly for the prospect of reconnecting with his rabid legion of fans he hasn’t seen in quite some time. "I want to see those beautiful passionate, sweat-soaked faces in the crowd. I want this music to be heard and I want to feel the ecstasy of performing and sharing. One thing I've learnt is that fear is the killer. I hit rock bottom two years ago. I've been as bad as I can be and I am still here. That gives me so much strength and positivity. I am not afraid anymore."

‘Happiness’ is the first single from IAMX's sixth album ‘Metanoia’ and has just been released digitally via Orphic/Caroline/Universal Records.

Featured Tracks:
1. No Maker Made Me
2. Happiness
3. North Star
4. Say Hello Melancholia
5. The Background Noise
6. Insomnia
7. Look Outside
8. Oh Cruel Darkness Embrace Me
9. Aphrodisiac
10. Surrender
11. Wildest Wind

You May Also Like

Echo Echo Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

Release Date: 13 March 2020
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Orphic

Alive In New Light Limited Vinyl LP

Release Date: 02 February 2018
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Orphic