skip to main content

Makril Limited Vinyl LP + Download

by Indridi

Release Date: 26 August 2016

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Figure B


Indridi Makril Limited Vinyl LP + Download

New York's Figureight presents Makril, the uncompromising and raw solo album from Iceland's Indriđi Ingólfsson.

Indriđi is an Icelandic visual artist and musician, known as guitarist of the explosive and uncompromising hardcore band Muck and the experimental collective Sagitaria Raga. He recorded and produced his first solo album in late 2013 in a solitary residency in upstate New York.

"The year before I was staying in New York doing a residency in the Clocktower Gallery (that's were the songs 'Út' and 'Guitarplay' were recorded), then I dropped out of school for some reason and needed something to do, so I decided to dedicate myself for a while to make this album, I wrote and recorded it all but some people came and played added extra instruments." He had never sung before —"I just kind of screamed in my hardcore band"—so it was a real departure. "Most of the music I was doing solo before was really influenced by getting the program Ableton Live and I was producing a lot of electronic stuff and you can always go back to the program and you can always do more with it somehow. But with this album I wanted to capture something live, some moment. Most of the songs were written troubadour style: writing lyrics and playing the guitar and singing the songs instead of just working in a computer." Most of the lead guitar tracks were recorded very simply and in just one session: "I wanted it to sound live, so I had one microphone that faced out the window. That's why you can often hear a little bit of airplane and insects and crickets and stuff."

Other performers on Makril are Aaron Roche on trombone and vocals, Alexandra Drewchin (Eartheater) on vocals and drums, Tumi Árnason on tenor saxophone and Albert Finnbogason who mixed the album also added arrangements.

For fans of: R. Stevie Moore, Eartheater, Aaron Roche, Daniel Johnston, Kranky Records, Flying Saucer Attack, Muck

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Afogtil
2. Dreamcat
3. Paradisa
4. Guitarplay
5. Djésenda

Disc: 2
1. Undiraldan
2. Gćsin Og Minkurin
3. Apar
4. Asenda
5. Út