skip to main content

Madman Limited Vinyl LP


Release Date: 08 September 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Anti


SEAN ROWE Madman Limited Vinyl LP

On his new record, Sean Rowe, who The Wall Street Journal wrote “recalls the ecstatic intensity of late-’60s Van Morrison and stark subtlety of late-era Johnny Cash”, has created a beautifully primal work. “Madman” is deliberately, if not defiantly, simple in both arrangement and composition. It is soul music in the purest and most literal sense, hypnotic rhythms, warmly distorted guitars and Rowe’s incredible voice recalling a time, real or imagined, when music and people seemed distinctly more connected. The sound of Madman is influenced, in large part, by the hypnotic driving guitars of Delta blues. “I was listening to records by R.L. Burnside and John Lee Hooker and others which are basically just guitar and drums and really raw sounding,” Rowe explains. “I was also listening to the early soul records like Otis Redding and Ray Charles. I didn’t want to try and duplicate those sounds, just take aspects of them and make them my own.” The title track features a rhythmic guitar, lilting piano and melodic bass, punctuated by horns, all of it in the service of Rowe’s incredibly soulful voice. The record was produced by Sean himself and engineer, Troy Pohl, focusing on the voice and guitar style he has perfected in theatres, nightclubs and living rooms.

Featured Tracks:
1. Madman
2. Shine My Diamond Ring
3. Desiree
4. The Game
5. The Drive
6. Spiritual Leather
7. Done Calling You
8. The Real Thing
9. Razor of Love
10. My Little Man
11. Looking for the Master
12. It Won't Be Long

You May Also Like

New Lore Limited 180gram Vinyl LP

Release Date: 21 April 2017
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Anti