skip to main content

Lucky Strikes and Liquid Gold Limited Vinyl LP

by Jeff Cowell

Release Date: 02 February 2015

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Numero Group


Jeff Cowell Lucky Strikes and Liquid Gold Limited Vinyl LP

Ten road-weary tales from the wrong side of outlaw country. Jeff Cowell may have huffed the same narcotic air as Townes Van Zandt and David Allan Coe, but hunkered far from the Nashville city limits, nary a Cash or Paycheck would drunkenly slur through his tunes. Recorded in 1975, Lucky Strikes and Liquid Gold is an isolated, backwoods loner epic, top-loaded with odes to hitch-hiking and rambling the crumbling Michigan countryside of Cowell’s hard-drinking youth. Previously available only out of the backs of borrowed cars, truck stops, campgrounds, and country-western bars between Algonac, Detroit, East Lansing, Cadillac, and Manistee, this LP now finds new life in similarly detached environs: the last remaining record stores.

Featured Tracks:
1. Jake Lake
2. Momma
3. Go Sweetly
4. And When
5. Lucky Strikes and Liquid Gold
6. We All Know
7. Bring Me Back
8. Can't Make Nothin'
9. Joanne & Jason
10. Not Down This Low