skip to main content

Lighthouse Limited Vinyl LP

by Iamthemorning

Release Date: 01 April 2016

Format: LP Vinyl



Iamthemorning Lighthouse Limited Vinyl LP

"St Petersburg duo cast a shining light on Russian prog" Prog Magazine The brand new studio album from Russian progressive duo Lighthouse is the follow up to the band's 2014 album Belighted. Formed in 2010 in St Petersburg Russia, iamthemorning features pianist Gleb Kolyadin and the charismatic vocals of Marjana Semkina. The band self released their debut album in 2012 before signing to Kscope and releasing 'Belighted' their debut for the label in September 2014. As with 'Belighted', the engineering and mixing on 'Lighthouse' was handled by Marcel van Limbeek (Tori Amos) and self produced by Gleb and Marjana. The album also features guest musicians Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree, King Crimson) on drums, Colin Edwin Porcupine Tree) on bass and additional vocals on the album's title track by Mariusz Duda (Lunatic Soul, Riverside). 'Lighthouse' is a rich and eclectic album, with echoes of classical music, the Canterbury scene, northern folk, jazz and electronic sounds. Recorded across London, Moscow & St Petersburg, the core instrument of the band, the grand piano, was recorded in Mosfilm Studios Moscow, the largest and oldest studios in Russia. Founded in 1920, Mosfilm is renowned for recording orchestras for soundtracks for the most famous Soviet-era films, including works by Tarkovsky and Eisenstein. 'Lighthouse' is a story of the progression of mental illness. The album takes the listener through the stages with the story's central character - her attempts to fight it, temporal remission leading to a final breakdown. Lyrically, the album has been inspired by the works and lives of Virginia Woolf and Sylvia Plath. Album artwork for 'Lighthouse' was created by watercolour artist Constantine Nagishkin who the band have previous collaborated with on covers. 'Lighthouse' will be released on CD presented in a digipak with 16 page colour booklet.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. I Came Before The Water - Part 1 (01:41)
2. Too Many Years (05:09)
3. Clear Clearer (04:35)
4. Sleeping Pills (03:43)
5. Libretto Horror (02:13)
6. Lighthouse (feat Mariusz Duda) (06:13)

Disc: 2
1. Harmony (05:18)
2. Matches (04:18)
3. Belighted (03:26)
4. Chalk And Coal (04:56)
5. I Came Before The Water - Part 2 (02:56)
6. Post Scriptum (02:43)

You May Also Like

Belighted Limited Vinyl 2LP Set
by Iamthemorning

Release Date: 28 October 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl