skip to main content

I Am The Fire Limited Vinyl LP

by Gus G

Release Date: 17 March 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Century Media


Gus G I Am The Fire Limited Vinyl LP

Gus G. has spent the past decade quietly affirming his place as one of metal’s reigning guitar virtuosos. He has recorded more than a dozen studio albums, performed around the world as a member of acts ranging from Arch Enemy and Dream Evil to his own band Firewind, and has been Ozzy Osbourne’s guitarist since being personally handpicked by the heavy metal legend in August 2009. Now, with the release of his first-ever solo album ‘I Am The Fire’ on Century Media Records, the fleet-fingered Greek fret-shredder will embark on the next chapter of his history-shaping career.

“People have been asking me for a solo record for years now, but I didn’t want to do an album that sounded like something people have heard from me before,” says Gus G. of his solo debut, an album that blends the metal histrionics that fans have come to know and love with a passion for classic hard rock and metal’s vintage roots. “Apart from a few instrumentals, this album isn’t traditional heavy metal or power metal, it’s got more of a classic rock vibe. It’s stuff that wouldn’t fit on a Firewind record, and I didn’t want to push that band in this direction. I consider myself a songwriter as well as a guitar player, and this album allowed me to experiment and explore that different side of me.”

That doesn’t mean that guitar solos are in short supply – quite the contrary, they’re plentiful throughout the 12 tracks that comprise ‘I Am The Fire’. Also plentiful is the roster of friends that help bring Gus G.’s vision to fruition. The aforementioned instrumentals “Vengeance” and “Terrified” feature guest bassists Dave Ellefson [Megadeth] and Billy Sheehan [David Lee Roth, Mr. Big], while the rest of the album features either Gus or Marty O’Brien [Tommy Lee, We Are The Fallen] holding down the bottom end alongside main drummer Jeff Friedl [A Perfect Circle, Puscifer, Devo] and Daniel Erlandsson [Arch Enemy], who guests on the two instrumental tracks.

Featured Tracks:
Side A:
1. My Will Be Done (Feat. Mats Levén) 00:03:15
2. Blame It On Me (Feat. Mats Levén) 00:03:23
3. I Am The Fire (Feat. Devour The Day) 00:03:14
4. Vengeance (Feat. David Ellefson) 00:04:26
5. Long Way Down (Feat. Alexia Rodriguez) 00:03:02
6. Just Can’t Let Go (Feat. Jacob Bunton) 00:04:00

Side B:
1. Terrified (Feat. Billy Sheehan) 00:03:14
2. Eyes Wide Open (Feat. Mats Levén) 00:04:18
3. Redemption (Feat. Michael Starr) 00:04:15
4. Summer Days (Feat. Jeff Scott Soto) 00:03:49
5. Dreamkeeper (Feat. Tom S. Englund) 00:04:45
6. End Of The Line (Feat. Mats Levén) 00:04:59