skip to main content

Hallucination Engine Limited 180gram Audiophile LP

by Material

Release Date: 16 July 2012

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Music On Vinyl


Material Hallucination Engine Limited 180gram Audiophile LP

Material is the musical brainchild of bassist, producer and New Yorker Bill Laswell. He released Material's seventh album Hallucination Engine in 1993 during the underground days of trip hop, which can clearly be heard when listening to this experimental but highly enjoyable record.

Laswell called in an array of musicians for this studio effort, intending to melt jazz and funk with Indian and Arabian influences. Collaborators include Wayne Shorter, Bootsy Collins, Joe Zawinul and even writer William S. Burroughs, who delivers some smart "Words of Advice".

The result is an hour of highly listenable lounge music, at times touching the realms of ambient hip hop beats and world music. Crucial material for fans of Massive Attack, Portishead en UNKLE.

180 gram audiophile vinyl
Including insert

Featured Tracks:
A1 Black Light
A2 Mantra
A3 Ruins
A4 Eternal Drift

B1 Words Of Advice
B2 Cucumber Slumber (Fluxus Mix)
B3 The Hidden Garden / Naima
B4 Shadows Of Paradise