skip to main content

From Here To There Limited Vinyl LP

by Stick In The Wheel

Release Date: 25 September 2015

Format: LP Vinyl



Stick In The Wheel From Here Limited Vinyl LP

Stick In The Wheel's highly anticipated debut album From Here is a raw, fresh take on English Folk music. Their now-trademark abrasive delivery of both original and traditional tracks, is not bland retroism, or empty nostalgia, but a voice linking now to then. Addressing issues that still have relevance today, re-visiting traditions long-lost, as well as those disappearing right before us, in a way that has more in common with Sleaford Mods than with Bellowhead. A thousand miles away from waistcoats and wistful ladies, the songs are roughed up down dark alleys with lyrics that are direct, honest, and caustic, but also eloquently poetic. The band is spearheaded by Nicola Kearey's fierce uncompromising vocal delivery, accompanied by Fran Foote's harmony vocal and underpinned by sparse taut arrangements. From Here follows a handful of acclaimed EPs and a recent Static Caravan 7", as well as BBC6Music and Xfm sessions and two BBC Folk Award nominations. Stripped back to their bare components, the songs speak for themselves without ornament. These are aggressive and intentionally raw recordings, cobbled together in warehouses, kitchens, and wherever they can, telling tales of everyday life: carboot-swindlers, lorry drivers and London rioters, sitting seamlessly against traditional songs of prisons, hammer-wielding blacksmiths and 18th century madhouses. It's not about genres or labels anymore, it's about standing up and being counted. From Here is an important cornerstone in England's musical lineage, with a proud rallying cry that's impossible to ignore.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Champion
2. Common Ground
3. Seven Gypsies
4. My Barra
5. The Blacksmith
6. Jail Song
7. Hard Times

Disc: 2
1. Me N Becky
2. Bows of London
3. Bedlam
4. Hasp
5. By of River
6. Who Knows
7. By of River (Reprise)

You May Also Like

by Stick In The Wheel

Release Date: 26 January 2018
Format: LP Vinyl