skip to main content

Everybody Is Going To Heaven Limited Coloured Vinyl LP + Download


Release Date: 29 June 2015

Format: LP Vinyl



CITIZEN Everybody Is Going To Heaven Limited Coloured Vinyl LP + Download

Almost two years to the date of the release of their breakthrough album, Citizen return with their highly anticipated follow-up full-length, Everybody is Going to Heaven. Haunting these ten songs is a foreboding, dark atmosphere masterfully crafted by producer Will Yip, and an immediate, intense energy is palpable from even the first grimy seconds of the opener, Cement. As with every one of Citizenís releases, Mat Kerekesís signature vocal delivery here is a trademark feature, demonstrating the emotional tension that boils over on this release. As cathartic as ever, he duels between a soft croon and a haunting scream, confronting his demons on tracks like My Favorite Color, echoing the tormented refrain, my heart still beats for nothing. And while most of the record is an intense and noisy onslaught, songs like Heaviside and Yellow Love act as armistices, each aching in reverb-drenched consonance. Everybody is Going to Heaven is a defining record for Citizen: once regarded as newcomers with undeniable potential, the band shows here that they have matured both abruptly and uniquely, with no end to their upward trajectory in sight. LP is coloured vinyl and includes download code.

Featured Tracks:
1. Cement
2. Dive Into My Sun
3. Numb Yourself
4. Heaviside
5. My Favorite Color
6. Weave Me (Into Yr Sin)
7. Stain
8. Ten
9. Yellow Love
10. I'm Going To Quit Big Y - I'm Ok