skip to main content

Esperanza Spalding Limited Vinyl LP

by Emily's D+Evolution

Release Date: 04 March 2016

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Concord


Emily’s D+Evolution Esperanza Spalding Limited Vinyl LP

Esperanza Spalding’s new project Emily’s D+Evolution, set for release March 4 on Concord Records, is a fresh artistic vision for the 4-time GRAMMY winner, a daring tapestry of music, vibrant imagery, performance art and stage design. Co produced by Esperanza and Tony Visconti (David Bowie), the album is an electrifying take on the power trio adorned with backing singers and touches of synthesizer, “as if to fly the pirate flag of the Black Rock Coalition” according to The New York Times.
Esperanza assembled a new band for Emily’s D+Evolution including guitarist Matthew Stevens (Christian Scott) and drummer Karriem Riggins (Madlib, Erykah Badu). She recorded some of the album’s eleven tracks in front of a small audience in a Los Angeles studio. The result is otherworldly cosmic soul, kinetic songs that burst with energy and life. Album opener “Good Lava” offers a grand salvo: sinewy riffs doubled on electric bass and distorted guitar with melodies that stick and float across registers.
Emily’s D+Evolution was first revealed last year via a series of high profile shows including a performance in front of a capacity crowd at the Prospect Park Bandshell for Celebrate Brooklyn! and the Essence Festival in New Orleans. Esperanza debuted the new album track “One” in October with a special performance on Jimmy Kimmel Live from BAM in Brooklyn.

Featured Tracks:
1. Good Lava
2. Unconditional Love
3. Judas
4. Earth to Heaven
5. One
6. Rest in Pleasure
7. Ebony and Ivy
8. Noble Nobles
9. Farewell Dolly
10. Elevate Or Operate
11. Funk the Fear
12. I Want It Now