skip to main content

Eskimo Limited 180gram Audiophile LP

by Residents

Release Date: 30 August 2012

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Music On Vinyl


The Residents Eskimo Limited 180gram Audiophile LP

Whether the masterminds of the avant garde soundscape band (if that is the correct term) The Residents have camped out on the Northpole in order to find inspiration for Eskimo (1979), we will never know. What we do know is that putting Eskimo on the record player is like a mini trip to cold, windy and mysterious surroundings.

The album's title is aptly chosen: when hearing the tribal drumming, chanting and cold splashes of arctic life, it makes you actually believe you're looking over the shoulder of the Inuit people. The band's members are shrouded in obscurity. They could be from outer space for that matter. Maybe this thought helps putting The Residents and their music in perspective.

We do know they were founded in the late sixties, after which The Residents continued to turn heads with their ability to stay out of musical confinements. Each and every one of their records that have been released from their debut Meet The Residents in 1974 until present (which add up to more than 60 (!) albums), is a groundbreaking effort in itself. No different for Eskimo, a highly desirable record that is an excellent starting point to discovering the ways of The Residents. Don't forget to put on your furry winter coat.

180 gram audiophile vinyl
Gatefold sleeve
Printed innersleeve

Featured Tracks:
A1 The Walrus Hunt
A2 Birth
A3 Arctic Hysteria
A4 The Angry Angakok

B1 A Spirit Steals A Child
B2 The Festival Of Death