skip to main content

Dracula Soundtrack Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

by Philip Glass / Kronos Quartet

Release Date: 31 October 2016

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Orange Mountain Music


Philip Glass / Kronos Quartet Dracula Soundtrack Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

Orange Mountain is pleased to announce for the first time on vinyl Philip Glass's 1998 score to the 1931 film DRACULA starring Bela Lugosi. For his new score, Philip Glass tapped the all-star Kronos Quartet and wrote specifically for them. In the late-1990s Universal Pictures approached composer Philip Glass to compose a new score for one of its classic monster movies. Glass chose to compose a score for Tod Browning's 1931 Dracula because it never had an original score. He composed the work for string quartet to evoke an ancient sound and now almost 20 years later Glass and Kronos continue to perform the music live to film around the world. In the end Glass's music gave the film new life, perhaps adding something that had been missing before there was music: structure and pacing and above all a new sense of mystery and soul.

DRACULA album was originally available on Nonesuch in the late-1990s.
This is the first time DRACULA is available on vinyl

Featured Tracks:
1. Dracula 1:12
2. Journey to the Inn 0:43
3. The Inn 3:25
4. The Crypt 1:16
5. Carriage without a Driver 2:11
6. The Castle 3:10
7. The Drawing Room 1:06
8. ''Excellent, Mr Renfield'' 2:46

1. The Three Consorts of Dracula 1:30
2. The Storm 1:29
3. Horrible Tragedy 1:22
4. London Fog 1:15
5. In the Theatre 2:48
6. Lucy's Bitten 2:18
7. Seward Sanatorium 2:57
8. Renfield 2:57

1. In His Cell 1:31
2. When the Dream Comes 2:07
3. Dracula Enters 3:59
4. Or a Wolf 4:38
5. Women in White 3:07

1. Renfield in the Drawing Room 3:36
2. Dr. Van Helsing and Dracula 2:23
3. Mina on the Terrace 4:42
4. Mina's Bedroom/The Abbey 3:53
5. The End of Dracula 4:06