skip to main content

Dormant Heart Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

by Sylosis

Release Date: 12 January 2015

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Nuclear Blast


Sylosis Dormant Heart Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

· ‘Dormant’ is not a word that one could associate with Reading’s metallers Sylosis, the band who have, in the past few years alone, toured with Lamb Of God, Killswitch Engage, Devil Driver and Trivium, as well as playing huge festivals across the globe, such as Sonisphere, Wacken, Graspop and Pukkelpop.
· New album ‘Dormant Heart’ is a powerful force, unleashing anger against everyday injustice and a sleeping society that lets these things wash over them. Frontman Josh Middleton explains “The title refers to people going through life on autopilot and being one of the herd. Sometimes there are catalysts that happen and change our perspective or consciousness.”
· Josh Middleton took a step up on this album producing it himself with the help of engineer Scott Atkins. Josh says of Scott and the recording process: “We’ve got a good working relationship and he’s really dedicated to what he does. We like to strive for a very earthy and organic sound. It adds to the human element and brings out the intensity and vibe in the music.” Another change is Bleed From Within’s Ali
Richardson, who is now drumming for the band permanently after filling in for some live shows on the band’s spring 2014 tour.
· ‘Dormant Heart’ retains the distinctive Sylosis sound; a mixture of intense heavy guitar riffs, breakdowns, thudding rhythm and Middleton’s growl. It’s difficult to tie down the band into a specific type of metal genre. Stomping opener ‘Where The Wolves Come To Die’ unleashes an aggressive start, whilst ‘Leech’ provides those breakdowns and epic choruses. ‘Mercy’ demonstrates the mix of galloping rhythm
and melodic guitar riffs whilst Josh fiercely declares “there’s no redemption.”
· Josh summarises the record as their best work to date. “It’s the most pissed-off, aggressive and intense album we’ve done, yet it still retains the epic, progressive and
melodic side we’re also known for. It’s a very gloomy and atmospheric album. We’ve been through a lot as a band and individuals and we’ve made our darkest album to date.”

Featured Tracks:
1. Where the Wolves Come to Die
2. Victims and Pawns
3. Dormant Heart
4. To Build a Bomb
5. Overthrown
6. Leech
7. Servitude
8. Indoctrinated
9. Harm
10. Mercy
11. Callous Souls
12. Quiescent
13. Pillars Erode
14. Zero

You May Also Like

Cycle Of Suffering Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set
by Sylosis

Release Date: 07 February 2020
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Nuclear Blast