skip to main content

Dogs Limited Vinyl LP

by Kim Hiorthøy

Release Date: 29 September 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Smalltown Supersound


Kim Hiorthøy Dogs Limited Vinyl LP

On his previous output Hiorthoy has mixed everything from folk, freejazz, lo-fi electronics, acid, instrumental hip hop and field recordings. On Dogs he has stripped everything down to a minimum, and gone to the core of his characteristic sound. The album consists of mostly just piano and ambiance, with some beats, and on some tracks the occational synth. Dogs is his purest and most beautiful album. Hiorthoy himself cites Jan Johansson as an inspiration but says that for him the music on this album is still anchored in early hip hop, sample-based music (though there are no samples on Dogs), and even the simple, cheesy melodies of some 90’s rave tracks. That said, Dogs probably owes just as much to the roots of ambient music: the minimalist beauty of Harold Budd, or even Eric Satie.

Dogs is the third full-length album from Kim Hiorthøy since his critically acclaimed debut Hei from 2000. Since then he has released the 2002 album Melke (a collection of remixes, 7 inches, rejected tracks and tracks for compilations), several 7-inches and 12-inches, as well as three EPs in 2004: Hopeness, Live Shet (a live set) and For The Ladies (a collection of field recordings). 2007 saw the release of My Last Day. He has also written music for contemporary dance work in Sweden, Denmark and Belgium.

Extraordinarily talented and expressive, Hiorthøy operates in many different fields in addition to music. A monograph of his graphic designwork, Tree Weekend, was published by Die Gestalten Verlag in 2001. Since then he has designed countless record covers, both for Smalltown Supersound and Rune Grammofon, as well as posters, books and book jackets. He is also an artist (check out for more information about his art) and has worked as a cinematographer for both documentaries and feature films.

Featured Tracks:
1. Träbit
2. Der Oläskiga Rummet
3. Hands
4. You Are Song
5. Klockan
6. Pirate
7. Allt Är Skit
8. The Woods
9. Fun
10. Men Jag Sov I Stället
11. Wrong