skip to main content

Death Cap At Anglezarke Limited Vinyl LP

by Then Thickens

Release Date: 05 May 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Hatch Records


Then Thickens Death Cap At Anglezarke Limited Vinyl LP

Recently joining stablemates Nine Black Alps as the latest addition to Leeds-based Hatch Records (ex-Brew Records), Chorley-based six piece Then Thickens are pleased to announce that they will be releasing their debut album Death Cap At Anglezarke on 5th May. The band have already revealed the first song taken from the album ‘Restart Your Heart’ and after sharing their new single via highly respected new music blog Gold Flake Paint, the Vice magazine music channel Noisey have just premiered the video for ‘Tiny Legs’ featuring Joe Gilgun, star of Shane Meadows’ film This Is England. The band have been championed heavily by Steve Lamacq while fellow BBC 6 Music DJs Jarvis Cocker, Gideon Coe and Huw Stephens collectively lost their marbles too. Those with keen observational powers may remember front man Jon-Lee Martin from the vaguely terrifying masked noise-mob KONG who released their one and only album ‘Snake Magnet’ in 2009 on Brew Records. Originally starting life as a home studio project from Martin, after some encouragement from close friend Jorma Vik from The Bronx a series of lo-fi recordings appeared online, which proved to be a prototype for the current Then Thickens incarnation. Now years later and with a full band behind him, which includes former Rolo Tomassi member Joseph Thorpe on bass, Then Thickens are now ready to take things further and in a very different direction to previous outifts with their blend of lo-fi slacker pop and college rock. Following support slots with Biffy Clyro (whose Simon Neil recently praised the band’s “Dirge-y pop music” in NME) and Mariachi El Bronx, the sextet will be hitting the road hard in 2014 with more tour dates and festival appearances to be announced.

'Death Cap At Anglezarke' is scheduled for release 5th May 2014 via Hatch Records.

Featured Tracks:
1. Heaven Won't Wait
2. Restart Your Heart
3. Any Other Thing
4. Death Cap
5. Ritalin Love
6. Matthew
7. Worms
8. Tiny Legs
9. Run Off
10. A Wasp in Your Mouth
11. Any Other Thing (Reprise)