skip to main content

Colinas Bermejas Limited Vinyl LP

by Grupo de Expertos Solynieve

Release Date: 21 April 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Primavera Sound


Grupo de Expertos Solynieve Colinas Bermejas Limited Vinyl LP

· It only took three songs, the ones on their first EP ‘La Cultural Solynieve Interpreta el Bonito Folclore de Montero Castillo y Aguirre Suárez y Otros Extraordinarios Artistas’ (2006), to underline the essence of the common ground between J and Manu Ferrón. They defend an emotional territory that they associate with the South, from where they fight against adversity and imposed constraints, producing a collection of songs in which their own compositions go hand in hand with those of artists that this Granada band consider to be essential. On this record the interest in tradition is on a par with the interest they have in diversity and change.
· On their debut ‘Alegato Meridional’, also released in 2006 under the name of Grupo Expertos Solynieve, with J and Ferrón now permanently supported by Víctor Lapido, Antonio Lomas and Miguel López, they took forward what they did on their debut in a surprisingly natural way with a big dose of insolence, a sense of humour and political commitment. With that record they managed to integrate folk, country and Anglo Saxon rock into the Mediterranean musical and poetic tradition, something that had not been done until then. This mixture would explode on their next record ‘Antiguo y nuevo’ (2008), on which the warm analogue sound blended more and more with flamenco, country, more electronic rock and the most delicate of pop, which all led to ‘El Eje de la Tierra’ (2012), a uniquely unmistakeable amalgam of all musics, lyrics and ideas that make up the delightful imagery of Grupo de Expertos Solynieve.
· On this third album keyboardist Raúl Bernal joins the band and the oblique incitement to peaceful rebellion has been transformed into an unequivocal and robust rejection of resignation in times of trouble.
· With ‘Colinas Bermejas’ (2014) the band’s commitment to folklore and to the progression of their sounds and ideas are manifest in the unpredictability and range of the project.

Featured Tracks:
Fandango de la Libertad
Ola de Calor
Año Nuevo