skip to main content

Cheaply Bought, Expensively Sold Limited Vinyl LP

by Declan Welsh and The Decadent West

Release Date: 18 October 2019

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Modern Sky Entertainment


Declan Welsh and The Decadent West Cheaply Bought, Expensively Sold Limited Vinyl LP


Arriving at the end of a rammed and sweaty UK tour and ahead of their Glastonbury performance, ‘No Fun’ is the latest excerpt of the band’s long awaited debut album, whose title ‘Cheaply Bought, Expensively Sold’ and release details are also officially confirmed today. Featuring 12 studio recordings, produced by the esteemed Chris Marshall in Glasgow (Gerry Cinnamon, Baby Strange, The Dunts, The Van T's etc), the record will be released on 18th October 2019 via the Modern Sky UK label, with former singles ‘Absurd’ and ‘Different Strokes’ amongst its tantalising track-listing.

Setting a precedent to expect the unexpected on their debut, new single ‘No Fun’ is one such example of many left-turns to be found littering the intrinsically volatile: ’Cheaply Bought, Expensively Sold’. Marking a shift in gear from the political to the personal, ’No Fun’ is a snarky riposte to performatively interesting party-goers, as it charges through 3 minutes of razor wire guitars and galloping drums. With Welsh in parts trading his distinctly Glaswegian accent with a southern twang, the singer makes a sly dig at the London A&R men who are too often lacking in self-awareness. From the appropriation of Scottish working class ‘buckfast’ culture, to that one guy wearing a bucket hat ironically blaring out 80’s cheese, desperate to be the life of the party, ‘No Fun’ takes aim at the various forms of ‘party chat’ encountered in a Glasgow flat at 3am.

Welsh explains: ‘’No Fun’ is about the inflated self importance of the kind of people who get full of it at a party and corner you to tell you about how they went on holiday and seen "the real Thailand". It's about folk with no self awareness. It's about people who think they are the kings of all banter because they put on a funny hat at 3am. It's about people who say the word sesh with no hint of irony. It's about people who say the word sesh ironically. It's about people who say the word sesh.’

Featured Tracks:

Side : 1

1. No Fun
2. Absurd
3. How Does Your Love
4. Turn Me On
5. New Me And You
6. Be Mine

Side: 2

1. Do What You Want
2. Different Strokes
3. People Let You Down
4. The Dream
5. Never Go Home
6. Times