skip to main content

Brutalism Limited Vinyl LP

by The Drums

Release Date: 05 April 2019

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Epitaph UK


The Drums Brutalism Limited Vinyl LP


rutalism is quite possibly the best collection of songs in The Drums’ ten-year career. The album is defined by growth, transformation and questions, but it doesn’t provide all the answers. Brutalism is a form of simplistic architecture defined by blocks of raw concrete. Brutalism is rooted in an emotional rawness but its layers are soft, intricate and warm, full of frivolous and exquisitely crafted pop songs that blast sunlight and high energy in the face of anxiety, solitude and crippling self-doubt.
Even the fact that Brutalism sounds intentional, focused and efficient is a symbol of how Pierce’s prioritizing of his own health and wellbeing has bled into how he makes music. For the making of this album, between his lake house in Upstate New York and a studio in Stinson Beach, California, Pierce was more open than ever, keeping his control freakery at bay, working with others to produce and record the album. He brought in Chris Coady (Beach House, Future Islands, Amen Dunes) to mix it. If there was a guitar part he wanted to write but couldn’t play, he brought in a guitarist. It’s also the first Drums record with a live drummer. Delegating freed up Pierce’s time to produce a more specific vision.

Featured Tracks:

Side: 1

1. Pretty Cloud
2. Body Chemistry
3. 626 Bedford Avenue
4. Brutalism
5. Loner

Side: 2

1. I Wanna Go Back
2. Kiss It Away
3. Nervous
4. Blip of Joy
5. Try

You May Also Like

Abysmal Thoughts Limited Vinyl 2LP Set
by The Drums

Release Date: 16 June 2017
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Epitaph UK

Encyclopedia Limited Vinyl 2LP Set + MP3
by The Drums

Release Date: 22 September 2014
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Minor Records

£16.99 £9.99