skip to main content

BOSSA NOVA Limited 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP


Release Date: 31 August 2018

Format: LP Vinyl



RAMSEY LEWIS TRIO BOSSA NOVA Limited 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP

One of the first artists to embraced the sun-kissed Rio groove to create one of its most unusual and engaging recordings. Ramsey Lewis utilized a small group of Brazilian musicians to augment his traditional trio and emerged with an unusual yet engaging album. Much of the credit for this must go to the incredibly tight and rhythmic battery provided by bassist Eldee Young and drummer Redd Holt. On top of the rhythm comes Ramsey’s pop aware piano, aided from time to time by vocalists such as Carmen Costa and Josef Paulo, who lend credibility and flavoring to the overall feel. The end result is a varied and yet important album in Ramsey’s catalogue and one that has endured over the year.

Featured Tracks:
Side A
1. Samba de Orpheus
2. Manhã de Carnaval (The Morning of the Carnaval)
3. A Criancinhas (The Children)
4. A Noite Do Meu Bem (The Night of My Love)
5. O Pato (The Duck)
6. Generique (Happiness)
7. Roda Moinho (Whirlpool)

Side B
1. Cara de Palhaco (The Face of the Clown)
2. Canacao para Geralda (A Song for Geraldine) 5 from COUNTRY MEETS THE BLUES
3. Your Cheatin’ Heart
4. Blueberry Hill
5. Country Meets The Blues
6. High Noon
7. I Just Want To Make Love To You