skip to main content

Belighted Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

by Iamthemorning

Release Date: 28 October 2016

Format: LP Double Vinyl



IAMTHEMORNING Belighted Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Formed in 2010 in St Petersburg, Russia, IAMTHEMORNING features pianist Gleb Kolyadin and vocalist Marjana Semkina. After self releasing their debut album in 2012 and an EP early 2014, the band released their new album & debut for Kscope entitled 'Belighted' in September 2014. Recorded and mixed by Marcel van Limbeek (Tori Amos), the album also features Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree, King Crimson) on drums. Gleb Kolyadin, himself a classically trained musician, took great care selecting the right musicians to ensure a high standard of musicianship for both their live performances and recording utilising guitar, bass, drums, string quartet, and a number of rather unconventional instruments including harp, as well as performing as a an acoustic duet. Taking their influence, both musically and lyrically, from the greats of the progressive rock arena including the likes of Porcupine Tree, Philip Glass and Kate Bush, IAMTHEMORNING's song writing is rich with metaphorical layers: referencing Shakespearean poetry, images of modern culture, visual aesthetics of Pre-Raphaelites leading the listener to deep emotional places. Marjana Semkina explains "there isn't just sadness, loneliness and pain in IAMTHEMORNING's lyrical field; there is beauty, happiness and hope as well." 'Belighted' is set for release as a 2LP through Kscope on the 28th October and presented in a wide spine packaging. The band are currently enjoying the success of their 2016 studio album, the follow up, 'Lighthouse', and are supporting the release with their stunning live performances at various Festivals with more shows to be confirmed in the coming months. IAMTHEMORNING & 'Lighthouse' have been nominated in two categories in Prog Magazine's 2016 Progressive Music Awards (Album of the Year and Vanguard). "IAMTHEMORNING are a special duo who emanates a certain magic. In Marjana they possess a beautiful, talented and charismatic vocalist and in Gleb they possess the single greatest pianist I've ever met in my life." - Dan Cavanagh, Anathema "St Petersburg duo cast a shining light on Russian prog" -- Prog Magazine (UK)

Featured Tracks:
Intermission IX / The Howler / To Human Misery / Intermission X / Romance / The Simple Story / Intermission XI / 54 / Crowded Corridors / Gerda / Os Lunatum / Intermission XII / K.O.S. / Reprise Of Light No Light / Intermission XIII

You May Also Like

Lighthouse Limited Vinyl LP
by Iamthemorning

Release Date: 01 April 2016
Format: LP Vinyl