skip to main content

BAIANO & OS NOVOS CAETANOS Limited 180gram Vinyl LP


Release Date: 01 June 2018

Format: LP Vinyl



BAIANO & OS NOVOS CAETANOS Self Titled Limited 180gram Vinyl LP

Baiano & Os Novos Caetanos was a band formed by prolific and multitalented Brazilian comedians Chico Anysio and Arnaud Rodrigues.
Satirising Brazil’s Tropicalia movement in the 1970s, the duo took a friendly crack at the likes of Caetano Veloso and psychedelic rockers Novos Baianos, with their righteous tropicalista alter-egos ‘Baiano’ and ‘Paulinho Boca de
Profeta’ poetically denouncing the dictatorship while simultaneously mocking those who took themselves too seriously.
Jazz funk legends Azymuth play backing band with keyboard maestro Jose Roberto Bertrami also responsible for the arrangements on the album. Azymuth’s free and funky psych sounds combine with accordion, harmonica, brass and plenty of rural Brazilian rhythms, for a hugely varied album drawing on MPB, funk and soulful samba rock.
The album also features Orlandivo who co-wrote many of the songs, and renowned multi-instrumentalist and producer Durval Ferreira. Baiano & Os Novos Caetanos will be officially re-issued on 180g vinyl, 1st June 2018.

Featured Tracks:
Side: 1
1. Vo Bate Pa Tu
2. Nega
3. Cidadao Da Mata
4. Urubu Ta Com Raiva Do Boi
5. Aldeia
6. Ciranda

Side: 2
1. Folia De Rei
2. Veio Zuza
3. Selva De Feras
4. Tributo Ao Regional
5. Dendalei