skip to main content

ATAQUE Limited 180gram Vinyl LP


Release Date: 07 December 2018

Format: LP Vinyl





One of Brazil's most prolific artists, Eumir Deodato has racked up 16 platinum albums, won a Grammy (and been nominated for two more), and sold over 250 million records in the USA alone. After moving from Rio de Janeiro to New York in the late 60's, Deodato would work as a composer, arranger, producer and keyboardist on nearing 500 records, under his own name and with the likes of Aretha Franklin, Earth Wind & Fire, Frank Sinatra, Kool & The Gang, George Benson, Tom Jobim and Bjork, to name a just a few.

But before that, a young Deodato had already cemented his status in Brazil as one of the country's top musical minds. In the mid-sixties, when he wasn't working with the likes of Roberto Menescal, Joao Donato, and Marcos Valle, Deodato recorded a string of albums with his lesser known instrumental samba jazz and bossa nova ensemble Os Catedráticos.

A masterpiece of hip Brazilian swing, Ataque reflects the deeper, groovier side of that magical, hazy sound of sixties Rio, with monster samba grooves backing big brass arrangements and scorching organ solos. Amongst Deodato's own tracks, there are compositions by Marcos & Paulo Sergio Valle, Baden Powell and Luiz Bonfa, arranged for a big horn section, which includes trombone player Edson Maciel, and given an extra dose of cool from the inimitable drums of Wilson Das Neves and Ruebens Bassini on percussion.

An elusive long player in the cannon of killer, groovy Brazilian music, with vinyl copies near impossible to find for less than three digits, Ataque finally gets the official Far Out reissue treatment: re-mastered and pressed to 180g vinyl. Now available for the first time outside of South America.

Featured Tracks:

Side: 1

1. Ataque
2. Os Grilos
3. É Bom Parar
4. Feitinha P'ro Poeta
5. Terra De Ninguém
6. Razão De Viver

Side: 2

1. Tristeza
2. Samba Do Dom Natural
3. O Sol Nascera (A Sorrir)
4. Samba De Rei
5. Até De Cavaquinho
6. Porque Somos Iguais