skip to main content

Apophenia Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

by Ruede Hagelstein

Release Date: 06 April 2015

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Watergate


Ruede Hagelstein Apophenia Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

· Ruede Hagelstein and Watergate go hand in hand. Not only is Ruede one of the longest running residents at the club but he’s also the man behind some of the label’s most acclaimed music and the curator responsible for lucky number 13 in the illustrious ‘Watergate ‘mix series. With this in mind, it seemed
obvious to put Ruede up to his next task - an album. It is with great anticipation and excitement that Watergate and Ruede bring you their first album, ‘Apophenia’.
· ‘Apophenia’ is the experience of seeing patterns or connections in random or meaningless data and for Ruede this is the perfect interpretation to describe his writing process, in which ideas appear from the empty, chaotic darkness. A random chord progression or percussion arrangement opens the door to the
imagination where structures appear and begin to take shape.
· Unlike most of his previous work, ‘Apophenia’ is not strictly attached to the dancefloor, created to fit just as seamlessly whilst listening to at home or in the club. For over a year, Ruede collected ideas and visualized his plan. It was important not to mimic his earlier work but to focus on a certain sound.
While staying minimalistic yet extremely organic and melodic he has created a timeless long player.
· While the album spans a range of emotions, it is always grounded in Ruede’s unparalleled, singular sound. Pair that with some notable features from artists like PillowTalk, Hollis P. Monroe & Overnite, Justin Evans and C.A.R. and you have a plethora of dazzling music.
· With tracks like ‘Moon Rabbit’, ‘Life Is A Beach’ and ‘Found A Place’ Ruede displays the sound of a night at the club while ‘Already Undone’ ft Pillowtalk and ‘Pareidolia’ take rides through the deeper, emotional spaces.
· In the end, ‘Apophenia’ is the perfect display of not just Ruede’s artistry but Watergate’s musical vision which together create an illustrious and undeniable entity.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Footprints feat.C.A.R.
2. Life Is A Beach
3. Already Undone feat. PillowTalk
4. Daylight

Disc: 2
1. Love Me Tender feat. Justin Evans
2. Let It Happen feat. Hollis P. Monroe & Overnite
3. Moon Rabbit
4. Plaything feat. Mentrix