skip to main content

Acousticalevy Limited Vinyl LP

by Barrington Levy

Release Date: 11 September 2015

Format: LP Vinyl



Barrington Levy Acousticalevy Limited Vinyl LP

AcousticaLevy, represents the first studio album by the enigmatic singer since 1998's Living Dangerously. Levy burst upon the scene in the late 1970s, a diminutive youth with a signature golden voice who, along with producer Henry "Junjo" Lawes and the Roots Radics band, ushered in the early dancehall era of reggae, changing the sound and vibe of the music forever. Throughout the early 1980s, Levy was one of the most popular and prolific artists in the game before moving to the UK and teaming up with producer Jah Screw. With Screw, Barrington Levy would record many of the timeless hits that made him one of the most celebrated vocalists to ever emerge from the Jamaican music scene. Songs like "Murdera," "Under Me Sensi," "Prison Oval Rock," "Black Roses," and "Here I Come" are modern classics that are still highly regarded by fans today, allowing Levy to pack houses throughout the US and Europe. AcousticaLevy is produced by Barrington Levy and musician/producer Handel Tucker, and features "Bull" singing his most beloved hits acoustically. Tucker is a hitmaker's hitmaker whose credits include the platinim-selling Bonafide by Maxi Priest, The Score album by the Fugees, and Etana's brilliant 2014 album, I Rise. Tucker has worked with Levy previously, having played keys on Levy's 1993 debut album for MCA titled Barrington. The album, which will be released April 15, 2015 on Doctor Dread's DDP record label, includes tunes like "Murdera," "Under Me Sensi," "Prison Oval Rock," "Be Strong", "Teach The Youth," "Here I Come". Also included on the album are three new tracks: "Life is Great" (featuring Patrice), "Things Friends" and "Times Hard."

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Murdera
2. Life Is Great
3. Unda Mi Sensi
4. Be Strong
5. Prison Oval

Disc: 2
1. Black Rose
2. Teach The Youth
3. Things Friends
4. Times Hard
5. Here I Come