skip to main content

Absolute Loser Limited Vinyl LP

by Fruit Bats

Release Date: 13 May 2016

Format: LP Vinyl



Fruit Bats Absolute Loser Limited Vinyl LP

Although Fruit Bats has ostensibly been a solo project since its inception in 1997, Eric Johnson ditched the name after 16 years and five successful studio albums. He has found success scoring films like 'Smashed' and 'Our Idiot Brother' and contributing songs to movies like 'Wild'. He has produced albums for artists like The Cardigans' Nina Persson and bands like Breathe Owl Breathe. He has also continued to grow his Huichica Music Festival and even recorded a solo album under his own name. But in 2014, Johnson was ready to drive the car off the cliff. His wife suffered a miscarriage. He lost his voice in a cancer scare. His sense of identity felt frail; his purpose seemed unclear. So Johnson turned back to his creative constant - Fruit Bats. The sixth Fruit Bats album, 'Absolute Loser' represents a triumphant return to name and form and its rebirth parallels Johnson's resiliency. 'Absolute Loser' is his treatise on how to redefine oneself after tragedy. QUOTES : "Psychedlia-tinged stomps rubbing shoulders with profoundly romantic tales spun of the warmest yarn" - Drowned In Sound "Further embracing modernity and sounding great doing it" - Pitchfork "Jaunty yet bittersweet melody that recalls the best of Paul McCartney's work" - All Music "Further exhibits Johnson's exquisite songwriting touch" - The Quietus

Featured Tracks:
1. From A Soon-To-Be Ghost Town
2. Humbug Mountain Song
3. None Of Us
4. Absolute Loser
5. Baby Bluebird
6. My Sweet Midwest
7. Birthday Drunk
8. Good Will Come To You
9. It Must Be Easy
10. Don't You Know That