skip to main content

Abnormal Sensations Limited Vinyl LP

by Braen Raskovich

Release Date: 29 September 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Finders Keepers Records


Braen Raskovich Abnormal Sensations Limited Vinyl LP

· Collectively known under their production pop group moniker The Pawnshop, Italian Giallo / Spaghetti legends Alessandro Alessandroni, Giuliano Sorgini and Giulia De Mutiis (using their Giallo-psych alter egos of Braen, Raskovich and Kema) would reconvene behind the curtain in 1973 to craft this lost fulllength album as a mythical addition to their tiny group discography.
· Pin-pointing a bona fide crossroads between the composers’ individual library grails ‘The Underground’ and ‘Living Dead At The Manchester Morgue’, this previously commercially unreleased slice of abstract Giallo stoner funk combines Alessandroni’s inimitable twang-happy growling fuzz and desperately inquisitive guitar / harp / dulcimer manipulations (akin to his work on ‘All The Colours Of The Dark’, ‘Marquis De Sade’ and ‘Danger Diabolik’) with Sorgini’s eery industrial scrapes, moaning echoes and faceslapping percussion grooves (found on his rare TV soundtracks like ‘Zoo Folle’ or the undercover work he did for library labels like Leo, Leonardi, National and Lupus).
· The inclusion of Alessandroni’s wife Giulia De Mutiis on groaning wordless vocal duties not only completes The Pawnshop trinity but adds the essential Giallo sheen popularised by Morricone regular Edda Dell’Orso (evoking clear comparisons to that of ‘Lizard In A Woman’s Skin’ and ‘Veruschka’). For fans of Giulia’s work on Bruno Nicolai’s ‘The Night Evelyn Came Out Of The Grave’ (dir. Jess Franco) and most notably Morricone’s ‘Sospiri Da Una Radio Lontana’ (from Henri Verneuil’s ‘The Night Caller’) and ‘Venus’ (on the Nereide label), the distinction glistens in the detail.
· These twelve tracks were circulated amongst TV and cinema production houses in the mid-70s for potential film synchronisation by library label Octopus under the title ‘Judicial Inquiry’ (‘Inchiesta Giudiziaria’) in what was
perhaps an effort to capture the imagination of directors of the growing trend in Italian crime cinema. Track titles such as ‘Abnormal Sensations’ and ‘Psychic Getaway’, however, indicate the trio’s natural penchant for the absurd and supernatural, rendering this particular beast quite specific and unique as its own dedicated non-release.

Featured Tracks:
1. Sensazioni Abnormi (Part One)
2. Cattura
3. Perquisizione
4. Bisca
5. Indagine Notturna
6. Evasioni Psichiche (Part One)
7. Sensazioni Abnormi (Part Two)
8. Rastrellamento
9. Braccio Della Morte
10. Evasioni Psichiche (Part Two)
11. La Mala
12. Premeditazione