Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

THE WINDOW Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set


Release Date: 28 September 2018
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add THE WINDOW Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £26.99

CECILE MCLORIN SALVANT THE WINDOW Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

Double LP, 180-gram vinyl housed in a gatefold jacket with insert. 'The Window', an album of duets be between Cécile McLorin Salvant and pianist Sullivan Fortner, explores and extends the tradition of the piano-vocal duo and its expressive possibilities. With just Fortner's deft accompaniment to support McLorin Salvant, the two are free to improvise and rhapsodize, to play freely with time, harmony, melody and phrasing.

The world first learned of the incredible vocal artistry of Cécile McLorin Salvant when she won the prestigious 2010 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition. In just under the span of a decade she has evolved from a darling of jazz critics and fans, to a multi-GRAMMY® Award winner and a prescient, fearless voice in music today.

Thematically, 'The Window' is a meditative cycle of songs about the mercurial nature of love. The duo explores the theme across a wide repertory that includes Richard Rodgers and Stephen Sondheim, the inner-visionary Stevie Wonder, gems of French cabaret, and early Rhythm and Blues, alongside McLorin Salvant's brilliant, original compositions. Just as a window frames a view - revealing as much as it hides, connecting as much as it separates - each song on the album offers a shifting and discerning perspective on love's emotional complexity. McLorin Salvant sings of anticipation and joy, obsession and madness, torment and longing, tactics and coyness. 'The Window' traverses love's wide universe, from the pleasure of a lover's touch with its feelings of human communion, to the invisible masks we wear to hide from others and from ourselves.

Touched at every moment by McLorin Salvant's brilliance, The Window is a dazzling new release from an artist who is surely, to quote Duke Ellington, "beyond category."

Featured Tracks:
One Step Ahead
By Myself
The Sweetest Sounds
Ever Since The One I Love’s Been Gone
Wild Is Love
J’ai L’Cafard
The Gentleman Is A Dope
Trouble Is A Man
Were Thine That Special Face
I’ve Got Your Number
Tell Me Why
Everything I’ve Got Belongs To You
The Peacocks
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal