Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Columbia Limited Vinyl LP

The Blinders

Label: Modern Sky Entertainment
Release Date: 21 September 2018
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Columbia Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £14.99

The Blinders Columbia Limited Vinyl LP

Doncaster bred and Manchester based, The Blinders are Thomas Haywood (guitar, vocals, word), Charlie McGough (bass guitar), Matthew Neale (drums, backing vocals). Influenced as much by the daily news as music, their impact, even at this early stage, cannot be over stated.

Out 3rd May, ‘L’etat C’est Moi’ is the new single from Manchester based trio The Blinders and the second track to be taken from their forthcoming debut album. Described by the band as “A self-proclaimed war-dance told by the Idiot King himself. The first-person perspective of a madman, and his obsessive fantasies for power over all, and insolence from none.” The quote is attributed to Louis XIV declaring “I am the state” at the end of the 18th century.

Produced by Gavin Monaghan (Editors, The Sherlocks, Goldblade) and named after the utopia which Charles Manson promised his “Family,” ‘Columbia’ is a bracingly thrilling debut which firmly places The Blinders at the vanguard of a new generation of politically engaged British guitar bands. The album’s striking cover pictures singer/guitarist Thomas Haywood in the tribal warpaint he wears for live shows, where he assumes the fearless persona of Johnny Dream. ‘Columbia’ sees 21 year-old childhood friends Haywood (vocals, guitar), Charlie McGough (bass) and Matt Neale (drums) follow Johnny Dream on his spiritual awakening, from the coruscating swagger of the opening ‘Gotta Get Through’ to the raw, beautiful and ultimately redemptive finale ‘Orbit (Salmon Of Alaska)’.

Growing up in Doncaster, the trio were originally inspired by local heroes Arctic Monkeys, though ‘Columbia’ was inspired as much by literary touchstones such as George Orwell and Jack Kerouac as much as their musical influences, who include Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Kanye West and The Wytches.

Featured Tracks:
Side A
1. Gotta Get Through
2. L'etat C'est Moi
3. Hate Song
4. Where No Man Comes
5. Free The Slaves
6. I Cant Breathe Blues

Side B
7. Ballad Of Winston Smith
8. Et Tu
9. Brutus
10. Brave New World
11. Rat In A Cage
12. Orbit (Salmon Of Alaska)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal