Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Vitriola Limited Vinyl LP


Label: Big Scary Monsters
Release Date: 05 October 2018
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Vitriola Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £15.99

Cursive Vitriola Limited Vinyl LP

Six years since their last record, Cursive are back with their eighth album - Vitriola, out 5th October via Big Scary Monsters.
Over the past two decades, the band have become known for writing smart, tightly woven concept albums where frontman Tim Kasher turns his unflinching gaze on specific, oftentimes challenging themes, and examines them with an incisively brutal honesty. 2000ís Domestica dealt with divorce; 2003ís The Ugly Organ tackled art, sex, and relationships; 2006ís Happy Hollow skewered organized religion; 2009ís Mama, Iím Swollen grappled with the human condition and social morality; and 2012ís I Am Gemini explored the battle between good and evil. But the bandís remarkable eighth full-length, Vitriola, required a
different approach -- one less rigidly themed and more reactionary as the band struggles with existentialism veering towards nihilism and despair; the ways in which society, much like a writer, creates and destroys; and an oncoming dystopia that feels eerily near at hand.
For the first time since Happy Hollow, the album reunites Tim Kasher, guitarist/singer Ted Stevens and bassist Matt Maginn with founding drummer Clint Schnase, as well as coproducer Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes, M. Ward, Jenny Lewis) at ARC Studios in Omaha. Theyíre joined by Patrick Newbery on keys (whoís been a full-time member for years) and touring mainstay Megan Siebe on cello. Schnase and Maginn are in rare form, picking up right where they left off with a rhythmic lockstep of viscera-vibrating bass and toms, providing a foundation for Kasher and Stevensí intertwining guitars and Newbery and Siebeís cinematic flourishes. The album runs the sonic gamut between rich, resonant melodicism, Hitchcockian anxiety, and explosive catharsis -- and no Cursive album would be complete without
scream-along melodies and lyrics that, upon reflection, make for unlikely anthems.

Featured Tracks:
1. Free To Be Or Not To Be You And Me
2. Pick Up The Pieces
3. It's Gonna Hurt
4. Under The Rainbow
5. Remorse

1. Ouroboros
2. Everending
3. Ghost Writer
4. Life Savings
5. Noble Soldier/Dystopian Lament
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal