Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Richard Searling's Music & Memories From Wigan Casino 1973-1981

Various Artists

Label: Outta Sight
Release Date: 17 August 2018
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Richard Searling's Music & Memories From Wigan Casino 1973-1981 To Basket £16.99

Various Artists Richard Searling's Music & Memories From Wigan Casino 1973-1981 Limited Vinyl LP

Renowned DJ and broadcaster Richard Searling revisits the records that helped define his career at the world-famous Wigan Casino Soul Club between the years 1973 to 1981. This fantastic 16 track - vinyl only - album is compiled from over 150 records profiled in Richard Searling’s 2018 book SETTING THE RECORD STRAIGHT and is an absolute must for any serious Northern Soul fan. It is the soundtrack, not only to the book, but to almost a decade of discoveries that shaped the sound of the might Casino Club. “The records I have included here are all ones I had the privilege of playing first at Wigan Casino, or in my short time behind the turntables at Va Va’s in Bolton. There are many others I helped create a demand for, all of which are detailed in my book. I’ve annotated any “cover-up” name changes that I might have used, and I’ve also tried to describe each 45 in the context of the time when it was garnering favour. I’ve also added as much background information as possible about the artists and how the records came to exist in the first place. As the book title - Setting The Record Straight – suggests, I have taken this opportunity to clear up once and for all some of the myths and unnecessary distortions of the truth surrounding Wigan Casino that have been circulating since the All-Nighters came to an end in late 1981.” RICHARD SEARLING

Featured Tracks:
1. Tainted Love
2. My Sugar Baby
3. Your Wish Is My Command
4. Country Girl
5. You Can't Mean It
6. Baby You Better Go-Go
7. Serving A Sentence Of Life
8. Let’s Get Back Together
9. I Saw You There
10. Carlena
11. When You Call Me Baby
12. I Don't Like To Lose
13. Put That Woman Down
14. Let Me Make You Happy
15. What' Cha Gonna Do
16. Love Is Serious Business (12-inch)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal