Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

SUN Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP + CD


Label: ODIN
Release Date: 27 April 2018
Format: LP Vinyl

Add SUN Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP + CD To Basket £16.99

SVEIN FINNERUD TRIO PLASTIC SUN Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP + CD

'Plastic Sun' is an iconic Norwegian acoustic jazz album, a portrait of an era and 35 minutes of original, genre-crossing, partly catchy but always fascinating music. Now finally available in a remastered edition on CD and in a 180g audiophile LP pressing.

Svein Finnerud Trio was one of the strongest voices in the Norwegian avant-garde of the late '60s/early '70s. Unknown outside the country, the trio pioneered forms of musical expression that later found an international audience through the ECM albums of Jan Garbarek, Arild Andersen, and Terje Rypdal. In this context, Plastic Sun is a statement as essential as any other of the period.

The album presents a large, thoroughly contrasting stylistic range, from funky soul/R&B-like bass grooves and cheerful piano harmonies in a Jarrett-esque gospel/folk terrain, via meditative sections to sheer free improvisation and contemporary music beyond time and tonality, and the trio went a long way in dissolving the traditional distribution of roles between soloist and accompaniment in favour of collective improvisation.

Artists Svein Finnerud: piano Bjørnar Andresen: bass and vocal Espen Rud: drums

Featured Tracks:
Alnafet Street
Plastic Sun
Dee Dee
Parelius N
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal