Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Caibu Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Label: Hotflush
Release Date: 13 April 2018
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Caibu Limited Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £18.99

SCB Caibu Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Scuba continues his uncompromising SCB moniker with ‘Caibu’, a twelve track LP of cerebral techno, darkened disco and broken beats out April 13th on Hotflush.

Paul Rose’s career has enjoyed a unique trajectory that affords his reputation as one of the scene’s most forward thinking artists, label heads and promoters. Always the risk taker, his Hotflush imprint is credited as a key force behind the evolution of bass music, whilst his ground-breaking booking policy for the sub:stance night at Berghain opened up one of the worlds most revered venues to new sounds and musical possibility. Today he continues to challenge the status quo of electronic music through a packed touring schedule, various artistic projects of his own and a weekly radio show platforming new material.

‘Caibu’ is his first album as SCB and incorporates material from the ‘Below The Line’ and ‘Old Media New Society’ EPs of last year. Preceding the release a third EP – ‘Engineered Morality’ - will drop 16th March, continuing to explore the fictional narrative in which a hypothetical timeline is corrupted by a climate-related disaster. The title of the album itself refers to an imagined surgical procedure where cognitive ability is augmented through transplant from one brain to another. As such, ‘Caibu’ and its accompanying EPs invite the listener to forge their own ideas on the development of society in the context of crisis.

Within this dystopic setting, ‘Caibu’ draws strength from introspection. At times trapped in a pressurized container, at others floating through vast spaces; SCB merges subdued hypnotism, syncopated basslines and visceral ambience to find his centre. Metallic surfaces are moulded into polyrhythmic patterns replete with ricocheting drums, whilst unfamiliar acoustics provide a backdrop for the unfurling narrative.

Artwork for the three EPs and album commissioned by Jonathan Lawrence.

Featured Tracks:
A1. Test Tubes
A2. Bone
A3. Manufactured Consent

B1. The Cut
B2. Freedom For The Fifty
B3. Extinct

C1. Laboratory Conditions
C2. Five Degrees
C3. Opposition Division

D1. Intelligence Fetish
D2. Caibu
D3. Into Consciousness
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal