Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Chemistry Lessons Volume 1 Limited Coloured Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

Chris Carter

Label: Mute
Release Date: 30 March 2018
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Chemistry Lessons Volume 1 Limited Coloured Vinyl 2LP Set + Download To Basket £24.99

Chris Carter Chemistry Lessons Volume 1 Limited Coloured Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

Seventeen years on from his last solo release, the twenty-five tracks collected on Chris Carter's Chemistry Lessons Volume One (CCCL Volume 1) were the product of six years spent working on solo material in the Norfolk home studio he shares with Cosey Fanni Tutti. CCCL Volume 1 reinforces Carter's significant but often under-appreciated role in the development of electronic music - a journey that for Carter started ahead of his work with Throbbing Gristle (alongside Cosey, Peter 'Sleazy' Christopherson and Genesis Breyer P-Orridge), and continued through Chris & Cosey, Carter Tutti, Carter Tutti Void as well as his own solo and collaborative releases under his own name. Here you will find music with a distinctly futuristic leaning, with insistent melodic patterns and a distinct sense of wonderment at the limitless possibilities of science. "If there's an influence on the album, it's definitely '60s radiophonic," Carter agrees. "Over the last few years I've also been listening to old English folk music, almost like a guilty pleasure, and so some of tracks on the album hark back to an almost ingrained DNA we have for those kinds of melodies. They're not dissimilar to nursery rhymes in some ways." Despite having been worked on over an extended period between various artistic projects in a variety of different moods, situations and circumstances, CCCL Volume 1's experiments never feel like Carter noodling around aimlessly in his studio-laboratory. Instead there is an inner coherence and a distinctively Chris Carter approach to sound and execution. It's an endeavour that places CCCL Volume 1 comfortably alongside everything else that this sonic scientist has been involved in, and yet one that showcases a restless, questing creative spirit forever scouting for new ideas.

Featured Tracks:
1. Blissters
2. Tangerines
3. Nineteen 7
4. Cernubicua
5. Pillars of Wah
6. Modularity
7. Field Depth
8. Moon Two
9. Durlin
10. Corvus
11. Tones Map
12. Dust & Spiders
13. Gradients
14. Lab Test
15. Shildreke
16. Uysring
17. Ghosting
18. Noise Floor
19. Post Industrial
20. Rehndim
21. Roane
22. Time Curious Glows
23. Ars Vetus
24. Hobbs End
25. Inkstain
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal