Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

RUN BOY, RUN Limited Vinyl LP


Release Date: 02 March 2018
Format: LP Vinyl

Add RUN BOY, RUN Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £16.99


'Run Boy Run' is the new album from Norwegian jazz trio GURLS.

GURLS are not afraid of being straightforward when they present their self-ironic songs on topics such as background singers, pork chop lovers, good-looking boy yodellers, or being single and desperate. Here three of Norway's busiest musicians get together in what they themselves have called a musical breather, and the result will make you want to laugh, sway your hips and maybe even blush a bit.

"If one were to use the concept of a 'supergroup' about anybody in the Norwegian jazz scene, GURLS would be an obvious candidate for that label." Olav Opsvik, Jazz i Norge

Rohey Taalah: Vocalist from Oslo. Studied jazz in Trondheim and has taken the Norwegian music scene by storm in the past year with the quartet Rohey. She received the Trondheim Jazz Festival's talent award in 2015, and the jury's reasoning was as follows: 'The Trondheim Jazz Festival's talent award in 2015 is being given to a free and fearless singer with genuine curiosity and immense energy in everything she does. She is unusually distinctive and powerfully expressive and is also an extremely talented songwriter.'

Ellen Andrea Wand: Bassist from Hov in Søndre Land. Studied at the Norwegian Academy of Music and is active with her own trio as well as with the quartet Pixel. Ellen was the regular bass player in Manu Katché's band for several years and received the prestigious DNB award at the Kongsberg Jazz Festival in 2015. 'Ellen Andrea Wang is expanding the scope of Norwegian jazz.' Audun Vinger, newspaper Dagens Næringsliv, September 2017.

Hanna Paulsberg: Saxophonist from Rygge. Studied jazz in Trondheim and has released three albums in her own name. She has also played with musicians such as Chick Corea, Bugge Wesseltoft and Bobo Stenson. Hanna was appointed as an ambassador for the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in 2015 and was chosen as 2011's Young Nordic Jazz Comet. 'But what really gets my soul vibrating is the saxophone playing of Hanna Paulsberg. I have yet to attend a concert where she doesn't add something extra.' Kim Kleve, newspaper Dagbladet, after the Molde Jazz Festival, July 2017.

Featured Tracks:
1. Worried Bout Ya
2. Oui
3. Dis Boy
4. Syngedame
5. Pork Chop Lover
6. Snap
7. The Boy Who Came To Town
8. Without You
9. The Love Seed
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal