Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Sofrito – Tropical Discotheque Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Various Artists

Label: Strut
Release Date: 09 February 2018
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Sofrito – Tropical Discotheque Limited Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £24.99

Various Artists Sofrito – Tropical Discotheque Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

: Strut present the debut compilation from SOFRITO, one of the UK’s leading tropical music collectives.

Comprising DJs Hugo Mendez and Frankie Francis alongside The Mighty Crime Minister, Sofrito has consistently combined the serious vinyl hunter’s ear for amazing records with the know-how to throw a great party, rocking dancefloors worldwide since their inception in 2005 with a mixture of vintage tropical grooves and exclusive dubplate edits.

From their legendary Tropical Warehouse events in East London to the clubs and bars of Brooklyn, from beach parties in Greece to festivals and clubs across Europe including WOMAD and the Worldwide Festival, Sofrito has now become an international proposition. Over the years the club has also attracted a string of A-list guests for live performances including Manu Dibango, Poets Of Rhythm, Souljazz Orchestra and Quantic.

The club’s graphics by artist Lewis Heriz have become a vital part of its identity, with each event accompanied by unique hand-drawn poster art, each now a classic in its own right. Running alongside their events, their Sofrito Specials 12” imprint has made available exclusive edits of impossible-to-find rarities aimed strictly at the dancefloor.

For their debut compilation, Sofrito bring together 15 dynamite tropical grooves old and new ranging from raw cumbia, heavy Congolese soukous, bassline calypso and cosmic highlife. Highlights include an exclusive cumbia by Quantic, ‘Cumbia Mochilla’, a new edit of a rare Victor Uwaifo disco cut and firing Carnival jams from old-timers Roaring Lion and Mighty Shadow. This isn’t about ‘world music’, this is some of the best dance music ever made.

Featured Tracks:
1. Banda Los Hijos De La Nina Luz – Quiero Amanacer
2. Les Ya Toupas Du Zaire – Je Ne Bois Pas Beaucoup
3. Frente Cumbiero - Pitchito
4. Fair Nick Stars – Arrete Mal Parle
5. Kyerematen Stars – Maye Obi Den
6. Victor Uwaifo – Ohue (Frankie Francis & Simbad Edit)
7. Adolfo Echeverria – Sabroso Bacalao
8. El Timba – Descarga Bontempi
9. Mighty Shadow – Dat Soca Boat
10. Dany Play – Fa’Waka
11. Safohene Djeni – Mahu Wo Asie
12. Ti Celeste – Popilation Basse-Terrienne Du Abois
13. Quantic Y Su Conjunto Los Miticos Del Ritmo – Cumbia De Mochilla
14. Roaring Lion – Carnival Long Ago
15. Gnonnas Pedro – Yiri Yiri Boum
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal