Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Solti, Chicago - The Vinyl Edition Limited Vinyl 6LP Box Set

Georg Solti

Label: Decca Classics
Release Date: 17 November 2017
Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Add Solti, Chicago - The Vinyl Edition Limited Vinyl 6LP Box Set To Basket £89.99

Georg Solti Solti, Chicago - The Vinyl Edition Limited Vinyl 6LP Box Set

Sir Georg Solti was one of the twentieth century’s most brilliant conductors and a leading figure of musical culture in Europe and the US. He studied piano, composition and conducting with Bartók, Dohnányi, Kodály and Weiner, made his concert debut as a pianist, and in 1937, Toscanini selected him as his assistant at the Salzburg Festival. He made his first recordings for Decca in 1947 and continued as an exclusive Decca artist for over half a century leaving a vast legacy of over 250 great recordings – including 45 complete operas. Solti’s recordings garnered many international honours including 33 Grammy® awards (24 which were made with the CSO) – more than ANY other recording artist to this day – including a Lifetime Achievement Award and a Trustees Award. Highlights include: Wagner’s Die Meistersinger, the complete Beethoven Symphony Cycle, Mahler’s Symphonies 2, 7, 8 & 9, the Bach Mass in B minor, and Berlioz’ La Damnation de Faust.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Prelude (Sonnenaufgang)
2. Von den Hinterweltlern
3. Von der großen Sehnsucht
4. Von den Freuden und Leidenschaften
5. Das Grablied
6. Von der Wissenschaft
7. Der Genesende
8. Das Tanzlied - Das Nachtlied
9. Das Nachtwandlerlied
10. Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks (Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche), Op. 28
11. Don Juan, Op.20

Disc: 2
1. Boléro
2. Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
3. De l'aube à midi sur la mer
4. Jeux de vagues
5. Dialogue du vent et de la mer

Disc: 3
1. Allegro non troppo
2. Andante moderato
3. Allegro giocoso - Poco meno presto - Tempo I
4. Allegro energico e passionato - Più allegro

Disc: 4
1. Bewegt, nicht zu schnell
2. Andante quasi allegretto
3. Scherzo (Bewegt) - Trio (Nicht zu schnell. Keinesfalls schleppend)
4. Finale (Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell)

Disc: 5
1. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
2. Molto vivace
3. Adagio molto e cantabile
4. Presto - Allegro assai - Jessye Norman, Reinhild Runkel, Robert Schunk, Hans Sotin, Chicago Symphony Chorus, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Georg Solti

Disc: 6
1. Bedächtig. Nicht eilen - Recht gemächlich
2. In gemächlicher Bewegung. Ohne Hast
3. Ruhevoll (Poco adagio)
4. Sehr behaglich: "Wir genießen die himmlischen Freuden" - Kiri Te Kanawa, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Georg Solti
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal