Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

Reworks Volume 1 Limited 5x12" Vinyl Box Set

Erol Alkan

Label: Phantasy Sound
Release Date: 03 November 2017
Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Add Reworks Volume 1 Limited 5x12" Vinyl Box Set To Basket 74.99

Erol Alkan Reworks Volume 1 Limited 5x12" Vinyl Box Set

The vinyl box set includes ten classic reworks remastered and spread across five pieces of vinyl, an exclusive
interview and download code to the full digital album containing a further 10 reworks. The box is covered in
linen with a red foil print. Also available as five singular 12s outside of the box set.

Five-piece collector's box, containing all 5 12"s alongside an exclusive interview. Reworks Volume 1 is a musical overview of what makes Erol Alkan one of his generation's most iconic remixers. Framing a corner of his career in perspective - a success in taking on any source material and melding it into something of his own. Alkan's philosophy towards a remix is to "re-produce" work as if the original never existed. Avoiding methods like the transplanting of a vocal on a contemporary dance beat, or adding a four-to-the-floor 808 kick drum underneath a rock band, Alkan instead takes a considered approach to build something new that offers a fresh and divergent take on the music in front of him. This collection of reworks illustrates that his distinct style of remixing is just another layer in what makes Erol Alkan unique to dance music. Unpredictable, but equipped with a Midas touch-you never quite know what's coming, but can count on it to be special, a quality shared between both his Dj sets and production work, too. Erol Alkan is a dance music artist with an alternative sensibility, a psychedelic approach and a punk outlook-what makes him stand apart in dance music is what makes him one of the genre's most enduring and influential artists. Reworks Volume 1 looks back on over a decade of realigning other artists, including his classic versions of Justice's 'Waters Of Nazareth,' Connan Mockasin's 'Forever Dolphin Love' and Death From Above 1979's 'Romantic Rights,' remixes that have added new perspective and dimensions to the originals, at times perform alchemy, turning rock into dance music on reworks for Franz Ferdinand, Interpol and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and he's just as comfortable taking on fellow dance music producers like Lindstrom, Daft Punk and Hot Chip - a connection which lead to the classic rework of 'Boy From School'.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Justice - Waters Of Nazareth (Erol Alkan's Durrr Durrr Durrrrr Re
2. Tame Impala - Why Wont You Make Up Your Mind (Erol Alkan's Extended Rework)

Disc: 2
1. Scissor Sisters - I Don't Feel Like Dancing (Erol Alkan's Carnival Of Light Rework)
2. Metronomy - The Bay (Erol Alkan's Extended Rework)

Disc: 3
1. Hot Chip - Boy From School (Erol Alkan's Extended Rework)
2. Connan Mockasin - Forever Dolphin Love (Erol Alkan's Extended Rework)

Disc: 4
1. Franz Ferdinand - Do You Want To (Erol Alkan's Glam Racket)
2. Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Zero (Erol Alkan Rework)

Disc: 5
1. Daft Punk - The Brainwasher (Erol Alkan's Horrorhouse Dub)
2. Gonzales - Never Stop (Erol Alkan Rework)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal