Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Thrum Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

Joe Henry

Label: earMUSIC
Release Date: 27 October 2017
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Thrum Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £16.99

Joe Henry Thrum Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

Joe Henry is able to capture what only few manage: well-crafted songs combined with his great, weightless art of songwriting. “Thrum” is an intimate album, amazingly quiet and relaxed, with simple yet skilful tunes and unforgettable songs. On “Thrum”, Henry is joined by his
trusted long-time musical companions and friends – drummer Jay Bellerose, Levon Henry, bassist David Piltch, pianist Patrick Warren and guitarist John Smith – and is accompanied by The Section Quartet. The album has been recorded and mixed 'live' to stereo tape by Ryan Freeland at United Recording, Studio B; Hollywood, CA. Joe Henry and his trusted musicians met twice, for two days each in February and March 2017. Henry, who also took upon the role as producer, managed to create a remarkable album with an extraordinary recording approach. Explains Joe Henry: “When the songs that make up Thrum began to arrive, pair off and multiply ––when I could hear within them a common vocabulary of shared intention–– I began to imagine not only the cast of musicians that might best articulate them, but as well a recording method which might bid welcome the unknowable and mercurial in each, and conjure them wholly, sparking into the room. And as I did, I went to my friend and longtime engineer, Ryan Freeland, with a proposition concerning how I might make an album that could allow for bold manipulations without forsaking the allegiances inherent to our spontaneous, performance-based ethos.... I pitched Ryan the notion that I would assemble a room of trusted brothers (one of them also a son); and as we offered up takes of each song, he would respond to their cumulative weather pushing through the control room speakers --not as a dispassionate stenographer documenting all for posterity, but as one making tonal movies on-the-fly: contorting, mixing, and printing the results to 1/2" stereo analog tape in real time as we played.”

Featured Tracks:
Side A:
1. Climb
2. Believer
3. Dark Is Light Enough

Side B:
4. Blood Of The Forgotten Song
5. World Of This Room

Side C:
6. The Glorious Dead
7. Hungry
8. Quicksilver

Side D:
9. River Floor
10. Now And Never
11. Keep Us In Song
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal