Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

Cry Cry Cry Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

Wolf Parade

Label: Sub Pop
Release Date: 06 October 2017
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Cry Cry Cry Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set + Download To Basket 19.99

Wolf Parade Cry Cry Cry Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

The band's first album produced by Pacific Northwest legend John Goodmanson (Bikini Kill, Sleater-Kinney, Unwound) at Robert Lang Studios outside of Seattle, Cry Cry Cry is undeniably Wolf Parade-but with the renewed focus and creativity of a band that took the time to get exactly where we needed to be. The album takes the best parts of what makes Wolf Parade so uniquely electric-the soaring choruses, rousing anthems, sprawling guitars, and chaotic keys-and finds a way to allow the best compositionally prog elements a firm seat at the table. It's also a homecoming to Sub Pop, which released all three of the band's previous albums. In their time apart, the band scattered geographically and focused on family and other work - Spencer on his solo project Moonface, Dan Boeckner on his bands Handsome Furs, Operators, and Divine Fits (with Spoon's Britt Daniel), Dante De Caro on records with Carey Mercer's Frog Eyes and Blackout Beach, and Arlen Thompson on being a dad and working a "normal" job. This break allowed for an even stronger, tighter Wolf Parade to emerge, if not exactly pick up where they left off. "All of our albums are always a reaction to our last one," says Arlen. "Expo 86 (2010) was about as sparse as we get, and this time we wanted to make the palette a little larger." Cry Cry Cry is deliberate in its arrangements and embrace of the studio process. The result is songs like "Valley Boy," a Bowie-inflected anthem for which Spencer wrote lyrics after Leonard Cohen died the day before the 2016 election. "You're Dreaming," also influenced by the election and the spinning shock that followed, is driving, urgent power pop that draws from artists like Tom Petty and what Dan calls one of his "default languages" for writing music. The swirly, synth-heavy crescendo of "Artificial Life" takes on the struggle of artists and at-risk communities. The album carries a sense of uprising that is not unrelated to Wolf Parade's renewed determination to drive the band forward in uncertain times.

Featured Tracks:
1. Lazarus Online
2. You're Dreaming
3. Valley Boy
4. Incantation
5. Files on the Sun
6. Baby Blue
7. Weaponized
8. Who Are Ya
9. Am I an Alien Here
10. Artificial Life
11. King of Piss and Paper
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal