Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Russ Winstanley's Heart Of Northern Soul Limited Vinyl LP

Various Artists

Label: Outta Sight
Release Date: 29 September 2017
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Russ Winstanley's Heart Of Northern Soul Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £14.99

Various Artists Russ Winstanley's Heart Of Northern Soul Limited Vinyl LP

In the early hours of a September morning in 1973, a huge World War 1 building tentatively opened its doors to the cult followers of an underground dance scene. The unfashionable Casino Club was open for business for its first-ever Northern Soul All-Nighter. Little could the promoters have realised the phenomenon they were creating – a phenomenon that would put Wigan and the Casino on the map, not only across the length and breadth of Britain but also in Europe and America. For eight years, the Wigan Casino all-night Northern Soul sessions achieved fame, notoriety and, eventually, legendary status among youngsters all over Britain. It was loved by each of its 100,000 members, voted the world’s best disco by the American-based magazine Billboard and started its own record label and magazine. Its DJs unearthed rare 1960s American soul recordings and launched them into the national pop charts, reviving the careers of many black artists. Now, as we approach the club’s 45th anniversary, the timeless music and nocturnal lifestyle created by Wigan Casino is enjoying a massive revival as former Casino-goers and many new soul fans are once again filling all-night clubs and Northern Soul Weekenders.
The perfect prelude to Wigan Casino’s 45th Anniversary · 16 Casino Anthems · Artwork featuring original Wigan Casino patches · Selected by “Mr Northern Soul” himself… RUSS WINSTANLEY

Featured Tracks:
1. You Didn't Say A Word - Yvonne Baker
2. I'll Never Fall In Love Again - Bobby Freeman
3. I'm Cum'un Home In The Morn'un - Lou Pride
4. Help Me - Al Wilson
5. I'm Where It's At - The Jades
6. Skiing In The Snow - The Invitations
7. Woman, Love Theif - Stemmons Express
8. I Go To Pieces (Everytime...) - Gerri Granger
9. You Hit Me 9Right Where It Hurts Me) - Alice Clark
10. You Don't Love Me Anymore - Johnny Caswell
11. Satisfied - Ben Aiken
12. I Love You Baby - Cindy Scott
13. And Suddenly - The Cherry People
14. Trick Me, Treat Me - Cobblestones
15. Go Knows - Mike McDonald
16. Love Music - Sergio Mendes & Brasil '77
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal