Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Masterpiece Of Bitterness Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Label: Spinefarm Records
Release Date: 01 September 2017
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Masterpiece Of Bitterness Limited Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £18.99

SOLSTAFIR Masterpiece Of Bitterness Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

An Icelandic post-metal outfit with roots in progressive, black, and Viking metal, Sólstafir were founded in 1995 by longtime friends Aðalbjörn “Addi” Tryggvason (guitar, vocals), Halldór Einarsson (bass), and Guðmundur Óli “Gummi” Pálmason (drums).

After cutting a series of demos, Sólstafir scaled down to a duo (Tryggvason and Pálmason) and began work on their debut full-length. After recruiting Svavar Austmann to replace Einarsson, they set about laying down tracks for what would become their debut album Í Blóði og Anda. A series of setbacks (label woes, lineup changes) kept the LP from being released until 2002.

By that time, Sólstafir were operating as a quartet with the addition of second guitarist Sæþór Maríus Sæþórsson, who made his studio debut on the 2002 EP Black Death. In 2004 Sólstafir inked a deal with the Spinefarm Records’ extreme metal imprint Spikefarm, with whom they issued their sophomore long-player, Masterpiece of Bitterness, in 2005.

The album became a landmark of sorts, marking the beginning of the Icelander’s steep ascent to international fame and recognition as the originators of Nordic post metal.

Featured Tracks:
01. I Myself the Visionary Head
02. Nature Strutter
03. Bloodsoaked Velvet
04. Ljósfari
05. Ghosts of Light
06. Ritual of Fire
07. Náttfari
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal