Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

For Sale Live At Maxwells 1986 Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

The Replacements

Label: Rhino
Release Date: 06 October 2017
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add For Sale Live  At Maxwells 1986 Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £15.99

The Replacements For Sale Live At Maxwells 1986 Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

In February 1986, The Replacements performed a classic live show at Maxwell’s in Hoboken, NJ. Until now, that pristine recording of the legendary performance has only been available in low-quality bootleg form. Even so, Pitchfork has called the show “a fiery, focused set that would make a true believer out of any skeptic.” On 6th October, For Sale: Live At Maxwell’S 1986 will finally make its commercial debut as a double-LP. This marks the first live album by the band to see an official release on this format.

The show at Maxwell’s would prove to be one of the last great performances by the four original members of the Replacements, a much beloved line-up including Bob Stinson on guitar, before his departure from the band in 1986. The songs they played spanned the band’s entire history while giving prominence to new material from Tim, including “Bastards Of Young,” “Left Of The Dial” and “Kiss Me On The Bus.” Mixed in were favorites like “I Will Dare” from Let It Be (1984) and “Color Me Impressed” from Hootenanny (1983).

The original 24-track master tapes of the show sat in the Warner Music vaults until being given a proper mix in 2007, but it would still be another decade before the concert would get its official release. Mehr writes in the album’s liner notes: “Now, a decade later, and more than 30 years after the original concert, Replacements For Sale finally offers high-fidelity proof of the peculiar alchemy and unadulterated majesty of one of rock and roll’s greatest bands.”

Featured Tracks:
Side 1
1. Hayday
2. Color Me Impressed
3. Dose Of Thunder
4. Fox On The Run
5. Hold My Life
6. I Will Dare
7. Favorite Thing

Side 2
1. Unsatisfied
2. Can’t Hardly Wait
3. Tommy Gets His Tonsils Out
4. Takin’ A Ride
5. Bastards Of Young
6. Kiss Me On The Bus
7. Black Diamond

Side 3
1. Johnny’s Gonna Die
2. Otto
3. I’m In Trouble
4. Left Of The Dial
5. God Damn Job
6. Answering Machine
7. Waitress In The Sky
8. Take Me Down To The Hospital

Side 4
1. Gary’s Got A Boner
2. If Only You Were Lonely
3. Baby Strange
4. Hitchin’ A Ride
5. Nowhere Man
6. Go
7. Fuck School
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal