Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Death Or Glory Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

Running Wild

Label: ADA
Release Date: 11 August 2017
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Death Or Glory Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £18.99

Running Wild Death Or Glory Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

German heavy metal band Running Wild were formed in 1976 in Hamburg, but shot to fame during the emergence of the German metal scene in the early to mid-1980s. Over the course of their career, they have released sixteen studio albums, three live albums, five compilation albums, and six singles/EPs. Although their earlier releases contained Satanic themes and imagery, they later invented the pirate metal subgenre after the band released their third album in 1987, Under Jolly Roger, which was a switch to pirate-based and historical themes, creating and influencing the later named Pirate metal subgenre of heavy metal in the 2000s in the process. While the historical lyrics were very superficial at first, the lyrics for later albums were intensively researched, by frontman Rolf Kasparek in particular. After this album, from 1988 to 1992 (for the albums Port Royal, Death or Glory, Blazon Stone and Pile of Skulls), Running Wild mainly wrote historically based lyrics. In addition to lyrics about pirates like Calico Jack, Klaus Störtebeker, or the little-known Henry Jennings, the band also addressed subjects like the Wars of the Roses, the Battle of Waterloo, or the colonization of the New World by the Conquistadors. They have sold over 1.8 million albums globally making them one of Germany's largest exports.

Running Wild’s fifth album ‘Death Or Glory’ was released in 1989 and proved to be their most successful to date with heavy MTV rotation of the track ‘Bad To The Bone’ which was recorded live in Dusseldorf in front of 9000 crazy fans. It also made the list of the 500 rock and metal albums of all time in Rock Hard magazine. This version has been expanded to include the previously unreleased track ‘March On’ and 1991’s ‘Wild Animal’ EP.

Featured Tracks:
1.Riding the Storm
4.Running Blood
5.Highland Glory (The Eternal Fight)
7.Bad to the Bone
8.Tortuga Bay
9.Death or Glory
10.Battle of Waterloo
11.March On
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal