Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings Limited 180gram 3LP Box Set

Thelonious Monk, John Coltrane

Label: Concord
Release Date: 30 June 2017
Format: LP Triple Vinyl

Add The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings Limited 180gram 3LP Box Set To Basket 79.99

Thelonious Monk, John Coltrane The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings Limited 180gram Vinyl 3LP Box Set

For just a few months in 1957, two of the greatest musicians in history ̶;; Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane ̶;; recorded together in the studio. This deluxe, 3-LP, 180-gram vinyl box set captures all of those sessions in chronological order. The set offers remastered audio from the original analog sources, rare photos and new artwork, plus an essay by the late Orrin Keepnews, who produced the original sessions.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Monk's Mood [false start]
2. Monk's Mood
3. Crepuscule with Nellie [take 1]
4. Crepuscule with Nellie [take 2]
5. Crepuscule with Nellie [breakdown]
6. Blues for Tomorrow [first stereo release]
7. Crepuscule with Nellie [edited: retakes 4 & 5]

Disc: 2
1. Crepuscule with Nellie [retake 6]
2. Off Minor [take 4]
3. Off Minor [take 5]
4. Abide with Me [take 1]
5. Abide with Me
6. Ephistrophy [short version]
7. Ephistrophy
8. Well, You Needn't [opening]

Disc: 3
1. Well, You Needn't
2. Ruby, My Dear [with Coleman Hawkins]
3. Ruby, My Dear [with John Coltrane]
4. Nutty
5. Trinkle, Tinkle
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal