Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Live in Berlin 1963 Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Count Basie Big Band

Release Date: 09 December 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Live in Berlin 1963 Limited Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £24.99

Count Basie Big Band Live in Berlin 1963 Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

A previously unreleased and remastered recording of legendary jazz bandleader and composer Count Basie. Recorded September 9, 1963 at the Sportpalast, Berlin, his star-studded group includes Snooky Young, Frank Wess, Frank Foster, Freddie Green and vocalist Jimmy Rushing.

"The performance followed a well planned script. It started with Ellington's "In A Mellotone", "Moon River" and "Misty". The band slowly gained pace with "Count 'Em"arranged by Quincy Jones. It reached a first climax with Jimmy Rushing's intermezzo - a glimmer of old Kansas City style in a new form. "The Swingin' Shepherd Blues" offered a prime example of Basie's economy on the piano. To what extent his art of "less is more" was primarily the art of perfect timings, the band compellingly showed in Hefti's "Lil' Darlin'" a charming piece of music, which becomes irrelevant when performed in the wrong tempo and without this crucial timing. What then followed was a finale furioso with "One O'Clock Jump" and "Jumpin' at the Woodside". On this occasion the Count Basie Orchestra showed that it was much more than just a swing machine: It sweats, boils and steams..." - Karsten Mützelfeldt

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. In A Mellow Tone
2. Moon River
3. Misty
4. Corner Pocket
5. Count'em
6. Announcement Count Basie
7. Mr. Five By Five

Disc: 2
1. I Want A Little Girl
2. I'm Coming Virginia
3. The Swinging Shepherd Blues
4. The Midnight Sun Never Sets
5. It Needs To Be Bee'd With
6. Lil' Darlin'
7. One O'Clock Jump
8. Jumpin' At The Woodside
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal